You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Mad Antics

  • Mad Ants' Henry is 2014 Coach of the year
    Conner Henry, who has led the Mad Ants to unprecedented heights in his first season, was selected D-League Coach of the Year by his peers today.
  • Priming you for semifinal series
    Thanks to Tony Krausz, who has stepped in while I'm out in Reading, Pa., covering some hockey. He has some some great coverage of the Mad Ants, who begin their D-League semifinal series tonight in Sioux Falls, S.
  • Video: Mad Ants coach Conner Henry
      Mad Ants coach Conner Henry talks about the keys to defeating Sioux Falls in the D-League semifinals.

Lots of talent on floor for Ants

Santa Cruz comes into Memorial Coliseum tonight with a 9-2 record, a five-game winning streak and the best record in the D-League. The Warriors may need all of the positive vibe they can get, because the Mad Ants will be waiting for them.

Earlier today, the Indiana Pacers sent center Miles Plumlee and Orlando Johnson to the Mad Ants - again.

The 6-foot-11 Plumlee has played in four games with the Ants and has averaged 14.7 points and 11.2 rebounds.

For the 6-5 Johnson, this will be his third trip to Fort Wayne, where he averages 22.5 points, 7.5 rebounds and 3.0 steals.

Add those two with former Notre Dame great Luke Harangody, who joined the Ants a week ago, and the Mad Ants have one of the more potent lineups in the D-League.

Harangody has given the Ants a kick-start since joining the team after Christmas, averaging 22 points and 12 rebounds. Since his arrival, the Ants have won two in a row.

Santa Cruz has a couple familiar names on its roster. Cam Jones and Darington Hobson are both former Mad Ants players from last season. Jones averages 10 points per game, and Hobson was recently claimed off the player pool by the Wizards.