You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Luers’ Smith All-American captain


– Jaylon Smith’s high school career is winding down.

The Bishop Luers senior linebacker will be a part of the 13th annual Army All-American game at 1 p.m. today at the Alamodome in San Antonio. The game will be shown live on NBC.

Smith was named a team captain for the West squad.

The Notre Dame recruit was also a finalist for the American Family Insurance All-USA Defensive Player of the Year, which went to defensive back Kendall Fuller of Olney, Md.

Fuller, a 5-foot-11 senior cornerback, is a Virginia Tech recruit and rated as the No. 1 defensive back by

The 6-foot-3, 220-pound Smith led Bishop Luers to four straight Class 2A state championships and has already won the Butkus Award as the nation’s top prep linebacker and the Indiana Mr. Football award.

Smith is Luers’ first Army All-American and is the first Fort Wayne player to play in the game since Bishop Dwenger’s John Goodman in 2008. Wearing his familiar No. 9, Smith will be one of two players from Indiana in the Army game. Warren Central linebacker Tim Kimbrough is the other.

Also part of the All-American Bowl weekend is a Junior Combine, in which five area players took part – Concordia’s David Morrison, Bishop Dwenger’s Ryan Wattercutter, Carroll’s Drue Tranquill, New Haven’s Jordan Hogue, South Side’s Donovan Clark and North Side’s D’Marcus Moon (who played for Dwenger last season).

“All of them did extremely well,” Athletes With Purpose’s Michael Ledo said. “They represented Indiana and AWP very well.”

Also, Homestead’s Chris Podlaski is part of the U.S. Army All-American Marching Band.

In the Under Armour All-America game Friday, Sean Covington kicked three field goals and Josh McNeil caught a touchdown pass to help Team Highlight beat Team Nitro 16-3.

McNeil caught a 6-yard scoring pass from Cooper Bateman early in the second quarter to give Highlight a 10-0 lead. Team Nitro cut it to 10-3 on Ryan Santoso’s 44-yard field goal.

Tampa-area cornerback Vernon Hargreaves III, headed to the University of Florida, was selected Team Highlight’s MVP, and inside linebacker Reuben Foster was the MVP for Team Nitro.

Team Nitro had four interceptions. Team Highlight avoided turnovers, but its quarterbacks combined to go 10 of 32 for 93 yards.

The Associated Press contributed to this story.