You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.





American League

CHICAGO WHITE SOX – Agreed to terms with RHP Jeff Gray, RHP Ramon Troncoso, LHP David Purcey, C Bryan Anderson, INF Josh Bell, INF Steve Tolleson and OF Stefan Gartrell on minor league contracts.

NEW YORK YANKEES – Named Marcus Thames hitting coach, Brian Baisley coach and David DeKay strength and conditioning coach of Tampa (FSL).

OAKLAND ATHLETICS – Agreed to terms with RHP Chris Resop on a one-year contract.

TAMPA BAY RAYS – Agreed to terms with C Craig Albernaz, OF Jason Bourgeois and RHP J.D. Martin on minor league contracts.

TORONTO BLUE JAYS – Claimed LHP Tommy Hottovy off waivers from Texas.

National League

ARIZONA DIAMONDBACKS – Agreed to terms with RHP Eddie Bonine, RHP Nelson Figueroa, RHP Warner Madrigal, RHP Garrett Mock, LHP Rommie Lewis, C Tuffy Gosewisch, INF Kila Ka’aihue, INF Mark Teahen, INF Josh Wilson, OF Jeremy Reed and OF Brad Snyder on minor league contracts.

ATLANTA BRAVES – Agreed to terms with RHP Wirfin Obispo, C Luis De La Cruz, C Matt Pagnozzi and INF Blake DeWitt on minor league contracts.

CHICAGO CUBS – Agreed to terms with INF Luis Valbuena on a one-year contract and OF Brian Bogusevic, C J.C. Boscan, RHP Andrew Carpenter, RHP Jaye Chapman, OF Johermyn Chavez, RHP Dayan Diaz, INF Alberto Gonzalez, RHP Jensen Lewis, INF Brent Lillibridge, INF Edwin Maysonet, OF Darnell McDonald, 1B/OF Brad Nelson, RHP Blake Parker, RHP Zack Putnam, LHP Hisanori Takahashi and RHP Cory Wade on minor league contracts.

COLORADO ROCKIES – Agreed to terms with RHP Manny Corpas on a minor league contract.

MILWAUKEE BREWERS – Agreed to terms with LHP Chris Narveson on a one-year contract and RHP Kelvim Escobar on a minor league contract.



MIAMI HEAT – Signed C Josh Harrellson to a 10-day contract.



ARIZONA CARDINALS – Signed CB Greg McCoy to a reserve/future contract.

BUFFALO BILLS – Named Mike Pettine defensive coordinator and Nathaniel Hackett offensive coordinator.

CHICAGO BEARS – Signed TE Fendi Onobun and LB Lawrence Wilson to reserve/future contracts.

INDIANAPOLIS COLTS – Signed RB Alvester Alexander, OT Lee Ziemba and LB Jake Killeen to reserve/future contracts.

JACKSONVILLE JAGUARS – Fired coach Mike Mularkey.



COLUMBUS BLUE JACKETS – Reassigned D Anton Blomqvist from Evansville (ECHL) to Springfield (AHL).


BRIDGEPORT SOUND TIGERS – Signed D Dan Maggio to a professional tryout agreement.

MILWAUKEE ADMIRALS – Recalled D Taylor Aronson from Cincinnati (ECHL).

SPRINGFIELD FALCONS – Signed D Bryan Helmer.


ELMIRA JACKALS – Signed F Brandon Blandina.

IDAHO STEELHEADS – Signed F Brett Robinson, F Ian Watters, D William Lacasse and D Taylor Vichorek.

READING ROYALS – Signed D Mark Mitera.


CLEMSON – Announced WR DeAndre Hopkins will enter the NFL draft.

GEORGIA – Announced NT Kwame Geathers will enter the NFL draft.

MIAMI – Named Mario Cristobal tight ends and associate head football coach.

OHIO STATE – Announced senior RB Jordan Hall has been granted a medical redshirt.

OKLAHOMA STATE – Announced the resignation of defensive coordinator Bill Young. Promoted linebackers coach Glenn Spencer to defensive coordinator. Announced RB Joseph Randle will enter the NFL draft.

PENN STATE – Promoted John Butler to defensive coordinator.

WOFFORD – Named Ron Sweet women’s volleyball coach.