You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.



Vacancy on Marshall board

– The Thurgood Marshall Leadership Academy will be looking for a new board member after one member resigned.

Member Jonathan Ray, who is also the CEO of the Fort Wayne Urban League, told members at Tuesday’s board meeting that member Bettye Poignard has resigned.

Ray said she will remain a supporter of the school but didn’t think she could attend most of the meetings because she will be out of town.

Thurgood Marshall Leadership Academy is the charter school founded by the Fort Wayne Urban League. It is authorized by the Indiana Charter Schools Board and managed by American Quality Schools.

The board, now consists of Chairman Alan Grinsfelder and members Sheila Moore, Leroy Jackson, Jim Burgoon, Ray, Alfred Brothers and Dave McComb.

The board still hopes to add a school parent and another member to replace Poignard.