You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.


  • Becoming the hangout house
    Start with amenities like a monster TV or fire pit, add a never-ending supply of munchies and a relaxed attitude toward your kids bringing home a friend – or five – and you may just find that your place has become the place where
  • Responding to Ebola crisis
    Joe Boway is sitting at a church conference room table when his cellphone starts to buzz.
  • Treating migraines
    People who suffer migraines know that not even the best medicines may get rid of all the pain all the time.

People and Places

Giving back

•St. Joseph-St. Elizabeth School students raised $327 for the Street Reach for the Homeless and Project Warmth, which buys blankets, hats, gloves and scarves for the homeless in Fort Wayne. The students raised money by paying $1 to wear a favorite hat.

API Alliance Inc. in Fort Wayne is helping with recycling efforts by collecting paper and recyclable materials to donate to Huntertown Elementary’s efforts to raise money for its school through the Paper Gator recycling program.

Volunteers needed

Camp Red Cedar is seeking volunteers to work with students at its facility. For more information on becoming a volunteer, visit or email

Nominations sought

The Greater Fort Wayne Chamber of Commerce, in conjunction with the Athena International Award Committee, is seeking nominations for the Athena Scholarship for young women graduating this year. Deadline for application is Feb. 28. To apply, go to

Board members

Parkview Foundation has announced the appointment of Jane Jorgensen to its board of directors.

•The Boys & Girls Clubs of Fort Wayne has announced the following new members to its board of directors: Aaron Brown, Shaun Davis, Jill Ostrem and Robert G. Westfall.

•The Fort Wayne Zoological Society has elected the following members to its board of directors: Tim Ash, Eric Ottinger, Dr. Steve Schimmele and Ron Turpin.