You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

The Scoop


Verbatim: Regional Opportunities board elected

Statement as issued Wednesday by the Regional Opportunities Council:

FORT WAYNE, Ind. – The Regional Opportunities Council, the investor board of the Northest Indiana Regional Partnership, elected the 2013 Slate of Directors to the Partnership’s Governing Board today. Existing members elected to a new term include Andrew Briggs (Bank of Geneva), Keith Busse (Steel Dynamics, Inc.), Steve Ford (Ford Meter Box Company, Inc.), Jim Marcuccilli (STAR Financial), Jill Perillo (NIPSCO), Commissioner Nelson Peters (Allen County Board of Commissioners) and Mayor Norm Yoder (City of Auburn). New board members include Paul Chodak (Indiana Michigan Power) and Larry Macklin (Adams County Economic Development Corporation). Commissioner Leon Hurlburt (Huntington County Board of Commissioners) and Bob Marshall (Campbell & Fetter Bank) were elected to finish existing terms.

“Momentum is building in Northeast Indiana as our efforts to position the region as a leading area for business development are paying off,” said Mike Packnett, chair of the board. “This is an exciting time to be a part of the growing business climate in Northeast Indiana. I look forward to my second year serving as chair of the Regional Partnership board and witnessing what we can accomplish together.”

“The Regional Partnership is fortunate to have regional leaders committed to Northeast Indiana’s success,” said John Sampson, president & CEO of the Northeast Indiana Regional Partnership. “The governing board members volunteer significant time and energy to lead our efforts to grow the economy of the region. They are to be commended for their leadership and generous commitments.”

The Northeast Indiana Regional Partnership was formed in 2006 to help build a globally competitive economy in Northeast Indiana. It is a public-private partnership focused on generating business leads and building regional capacity through product development and effective regional collaboration. In 2010, the Partnership launched Vision 2020 to bring the region together around five key areas for economic growth: 21st Century Talent, Competitive Business Climate, Entrepreneurship, Infrastructure and Quality of Life. Through its combined efforts in business development and capacity building, the Partnership supports its 10 member counties: Adams, Allen, DeKalb, Huntington, LaGrange, Noble, Steuben, Wabash, Wells and Whitley counties. For more information visit

For a full list of the Partnership’s board of directors, please visit the website.

Send items for The Scoop to