You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Business People

  • Business people
    Bonnie Moorman was awarded 2014 Volunteer of the Year at the recent Indiana State SHRM Conference for her work as director of workforce readiness for the Northeast Indiana Human Resources Association.
  • Business people
    Northeast Indiana educator Özlem H. Ersin was elected to the governing council of the American Public Health Association. John C. Reimbold, Terry L. Anderson and Tyler W.
  • Business people
    Sweetwater recently hired three nationally known music professionals: producer and keyboard player Phil Naish; drummer and vocalist Nick D’Virgilio; and guitarist Don Carr. Ken W.

Business people

Branch R. Lew of Hunt Suedhoff Kalamaros LLP, John R. Burns III and Steven L. Jackson of Faegre Baker Daniels LLP and Douglas R. Adelsperger of Adelsperger & Kleven LLP were selected for inclusion in the 2013 edition of Indiana Super Lawyers. Andrew S. Williams and Eric M. Wilkins of Hunt Suedhoff Kalamaros LLP, Kevin J. Mitchell and Shannon K. Reed of Faegre Baker Daniels LLP and Benjamin D. Ice with Murphy Ice & Koeneman LLP were named 2013 Indiana Rising Stars.

General Motors’ Fort Wayne Assembly has announced that Stephen Smith and Errica Greene have joined the body shop as maintenance group leaders; Jeffrey Kegerreis is being promoted to material business manager; and Teresa Ratkos was assigned to the material department as material group leader.

Robin Strasser, a CPA, has joined Fort Wayne-Allen County Airport Authority as the director of administration & finance.

Brady McArdle, a CFP with Galecki Financial Management, recently attended the Low Load Insurance Specialists Academy for Advisors in Florida.

John Koch has joined Southeastern Equipment Co. as operations manager of its Fort Wayne location.

Local professionals from the multifamily housing industry were honored at the 2012 Summit Celebration of the Apartment Association of Fort Wayne-NE Indiana Inc. Melissa Moriarity of Newburyport Apartments was named the Sharon K. Hauser Property Manager of the Year. The Distinguished Service award was awarded to Karen Potter of ProFed Credit Union. Other award winners include Leasing Consultant of the Year, Cyndi Calzada, Poplar Ridge; Maintenance Technician of the Year, Denny Hintz, NAI Harding Dahm; Assistant Manager of the Year, Jessica Zieg, The Reserve at Dawson’s Creek; Independent Owner of the Year, Miriam Larmore, Teakwood Arms; Associate Member of the Year, City Carpet Outlet Inc.; Maintenance Supervisor of the Year, Dave Becker, The Reserve at Dawson’s Creek; and the President Award, Cindy Bane, Gene B Glick Co.

Regional Opportunities Council, the investor board of the Northeast Indiana Regional Partnership, elected 2013 directors to the Partnership’s Governing Board. Existing members elected to a new term include Andrew Briggs, Bank of Geneva; Keith Busse, Steel Dynamics Inc., Steve Ford, Ford Meter Box Co. Inc.; Jim Marcuccilli, Star Financial; Jill Perillo, NIPSCO; Nelson Peters, commissioner, Allen County Board of Commissioners; and Norm Yoder, mayor, city of Auburn. New board members include Paul Chodak, Indiana Michigan Power; and Larry Macklin, Adams County Economic Development Corp. Leon Hurlburt, commissioner, Huntington County Board of Commissioners; and Bob Marshall, Campbell & Fetter Bank, were elected to finish existing terms.

Franchise owner Kathy Hackworth from Once Upon A Child of Fort Wayne was recently honored with a Sales Excellence award at the franchisor’s Annual Conference and Trade Show Jan. 21 to 24 in Clearwater Beach, Fla.

William A. Ramsey, attorney with Murphy Ice & Koeneman LLP, recently had law articles published in The Indiana Lawyer; Tort Prejudgment Interest Statutes, January 2013; and Res Gestae, Appealing Orders Before a Case Ends: Dos, Don’ts, and Modest Proposals, December 2012.

Dave Chmiel has joined Ruoff Home Mortgage as a senior loan officer at its Dupont Road main office.

Tyler D. Yeager has joined Snow & Sauerteig LLP and will focus his practice on creditors’ rights, litigation and commercial transactions.

Christopher P. Moore of Moore & Associates has been named to the Barron’s Top 1,000 Advisors: State-by-State Listings in Barron’s magazine.

Nick Staker was No. 1 and Anne King was No. 2 for most volumes in loan transactions for the month of January in the five-state region for Academy Mortgage.

John C. Reimbold with Ameriprise Financial Services Inc. has qualified for the Million Dollar Round Table.