You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Eyeing IU


Media honors IU's Sinclair

Indiana's Aulani Sinclair was the only women's player to receive a postseason honor, the Big Ten announced Monday.

Sinclair was an honorable mention by the media.

She averages a team-high 15.9 points and 4.3 rebounds.

The coaches named Nebraska's Connie Yori as coach of the year, and the media picked Penn State's Coquese Washington as the conference's coach of the year.

Penn State's Maggie Lucas was named Big Ten player of the year by the coaches and media, and Lucas, Rachel Banham (Minnesota), Jordan Hooper (Nebraska), Tayler Hill (Ohio State) and Alex Bentley (Penn State) comprised the All-Big Ten first team on the coaches' ballots. The media named Lucas, Hooper, Hill, Bentley and Illinois' Karisma Penn to the All-Big Ten first team.

Northwestern's Maggie Lyon was named Big Ten freshman of the year by the coaches and media, and Iowa's Melissa Dixon was named sixth player of the year. Adrienne GodBold of Illinois was named defensive player of the year.