You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Eyeing IU

  • Freshmen lead Indiana past Lamar
    BLOOMINGTON — Freshman James Blackmon Jr. pumped in 21 points as Indiana held on late to beat Lamar 85-72 on Saturday night in a game that was closer than expected.
  • Hoosiers fade late, lose to Ohio State
    COLUMBUS, Ohio — Jalin Marshall returned a punt 54 yards for a touchdown to give No. 7 Ohio State the lead late in the third quarter and added three late insurance scores to lead the Buckeyes past Indiana 42-27 Saturday, the Hoosiers' sixth
  • Buckeyes try to slow Tevin Coleman
      OSU rush defense vulnerable

IU's Ferrell named Big Ten co-freshman of the week

Zeller, Oladipo finalists for Oscar Robertson Trophy

Indiana guard Kevin "Yogi" Ferrell earned a share of the Big Ten's freshmen of the week honor, and guard Victor Oladipo and forward Cody Zeller are among the 14 finalists for the Oscar Robertson national player of the year trophy.

Ferrell averaged 14.5 points and five assists for Indiana last week as the Hoosiers clinched at least a share of the Big Ten regular-season title. He had a career-high 19 points and five assists in Saturday's win over Iowa, and 10 points and five assists in Tuesday's loss at Minnesota.

Ferrell, who was also named the freshman of the week Nov. 12, shared the freshman honor with Wisconsin forward Sam Dekker, who averaged 14.5 points and 3.5 assists last week.

Minnesota forward Trevor Mbakwe was named the Big Ten player of the week after he had 21 points and 12 rebounds against Indiana, and 13 points and 13 rebounds against Penn State.

Zeller is Indiana's leading scorer, averaging 16.5 points, and rebounder, averaging 8.1. Oladipo is the Hoosiers' second-leading scorer, averaging 14 points, and he leads the team in steals with 68.

Ohio State junior forward Deshaun Thomas, a Bishop Luers graduate, is also a finalist for the Robertson Trophy. The junior averages 19.9 points and 6.1 rebounds. Mason Plumlee of Duke, who played at Warsaw, also is on the list.

The Robertson Trophy winner will be announced at 9:15 a.m. April 5.

Oscar Robertson Trophy finalists

Anthony Bennett, UNLV

Trey Burke, Michigan

Michael Carter-Williams, Syracuse

Doug McDermott, Creighton

Ben McLemore, Kansas

Victor Oladipo, Indiana

Kelly Olynyk, Gonzaga

Mason Plumlee, Duke

Otto Porter, Georgetown

Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State

Russ Smith, Louisville

Deshaun Thomas, Ohio State

Jeff Withey, Kansas

Cody Zeller, Indiana