You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Irish Insights

File | Associated press
Raghib Ismail

3 from Notre Dame up for College Football Hall of Fame

Former Notre Dame standouts Bob Crable, Raghib Ismail and Aaron Taylor were among the 77 players and five coaches on Football Bowl Subdivision ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame, which the National Football Foundation announced Tuesday.

Crable was a linebacker, who was a consensus first-team All-American selection in 1980 and 1981. He holds Notre Dame records for most tackles in a career (521), season (187 in 1979) and game (26 vs. Clemson in 1979. His 26 tackles in a game remains an FBS record-tying effort

Ismail was a receiver, was named a first-team All-American twice. He earned consensus honors in 1989 and unanimous honors in 1990. Ismail was Walter Camp Player of the Year and Heisman Trophy runner-up in 1990, and he set NCAA record by twice returning two kickoffs for touchdowns in a single game (Rice 1988, Michigan 1989).

He finished with 4,187 all-purpose yards, led the nation in kickoff returns as freshman in 1988 with 36.1-yard average and helped the Irish to 1988 national championship.

Taylor was an offensive tackle, who was a two-time first-team All-America selection in 1992-93. He was a consensus pick in 1992 and a unanimous selection in 1993.

Taylor won the 1993 Lombardi Award and was named College Interior Lineman of the Year by Columbus (Ohio) Touchdown Club in 1993. He was a team captain in 1993, and he started 30 straight games to end his college career and helped his team in '93 win its first 10 games to reach the No. 1 ranking.

This is Crable's third time on the ballot (also in 2007 and 2010); it's Ismail's second straight appearance; and it's Taylor's first time on the ballot.

The Hall of Fame class will be announced May 7 and then inducted at the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame's Annual Awards Dinner Dec. 10 at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York City.