You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Eyeing IU

  • Hoosiers add high school center
    Indiana took a step toward addressing the loss of Noah Vonleh on Friday night by receiving a commitment from high school center Jeremiah April.
  • Video: offensive coordinator Kevin Johns
      Hoosiers offensive coordinator Kevin Johns meets with media after the Cream and Crimson spring game on April 12.
  • Video: D-coordinator Brian Knorr
      Indiana defensive coordinator Brian Knorr meets with media after the Cream and Crimson spring game on April 12.
File | Associated Press
Antwaan Randle El

2 from IU up for College Football Hall of Fame

Former Indiana standouts Antwaan Randle El and Tom Nowatzke were among the 77 players and five coaches on Football Bowl Subdivision ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame, which the National Football Foundation announced Tuesday.

Randle El was a quarterback, who earned All-Big Ten distinction in 1999, 2000 and 2001 and was named Big Ten Freshman of the Year in 1998. The Big Ten MVP and a first team All-American in 2001 also finished sixth in Heisman Trophy balloting after finishing 13th in 2000.

Randle El was the first player in NCAA history to score 40 touchdowns (45) and throw for 40 TDs (42), the first to record more than 2,500 total yards in four seasons and the first to pass for more than 6,000 yards and rush for more than 3,000 yards.

Nowatzke was a fullback, who earned first team All-America honors in 1964. He was a two-time All-Conference selection (1963-64) and led the Big Ten in rushing in 1963.

Nowatzke played in the East-West Shrine Game, the Senior Bowl and the Coaches All-American Game.

The Hall of Fame class will be announced May 7 and then inducted at the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame's Annual Awards Dinner Dec. 10 at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York City.