You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.


  • Judge questions $75M NCAA concussion settlement
    The judge overseeing a proposed head injury settlement with the NCAA has concerns about the deal and is holding off on granting preliminary approval.
  • Chris and Kyle's picks for College Football Playoffs
    After an exciting weekend that saw Baylor, Notre Dame and Oklahoma all go down, the scenarios for the College Football Playoff saw a shakeup.
  • UNC report: Years of academic fraud
    As a University of North Carolina “shadow curriculum” lasting almost 20 years neared its end in November 2009, two counselors who advise student-athletes on academics gave a presentation to the football coaching staff.

7 state players on College Hall ballot

Antwaan Randle El of Indiana, Dave Butz of Purdue and Raghib Ismail of Notre Dame are among seven players from state universities on the 2013 College Football Hall of Fame's ballot.

Three Notre Dame players and two each from IU and Purdue were named to the hall's Football Bowl Subdivision ballot, the National Football Foundation said in a statement.

Bob Crable and Aaron Taylor of Notre Dame, Larry Burton of Purdue and Tom Nowatzke of Indiana also are on the 77-player ballot.

Randle El, a quarterback, passed for more than 6,000 yards and rushed for more than 3,000 yards for the Hoosiers. Nowatzke, a fullback, led the Big Ten in rushing in 1963.

Butz, a defensive tackle was a finalist for the Lombardi Award in 1972. Burton, a split end, was named Outstanding College Athlete of America in 1974.

Ismail, a wide receiver, was Heisman Trophy runner-up in 1990. Crable, a linebacker, set school records for career tackles, most tackles in a season and most tackles in a game. Taylor, an offensive tackle, was the 1993 Lombardi Award winner.

More than 12,000 foundation members and current Hall of Famers are eligible to cast votes. The foundation's Honors Court deliberates and selects the class, which is announced May 7 and inducted at a dinner Dec. 10.