You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Business People

  • Business people
    Kathy Callen joined Old National Bank as community engagement executive for its Fort Wayne region.
  • Business people
    Wells Fargo Advisors Financial Network designated Byron Braun, president and fundamental choice portfolio manager of Braun Wealth Management Group LLC, as a member of its Premier Advisors Program.
  • Business people
    Do it Best Corp. hired Travis Adams as a business technical support technician and Bryan Chamberlain, forecasting and logistics planner.

Business people

William E. Shuttleworth of Shuttleworth Insurance has completed the annual continuing education requirement of the Society of Certified Insurance Counselors, a leading national insurance professional organization.

Greg Galecki of Galecki Financial Management Inc. was elected to the iShares 529 Plan 2012 Advisors Honor Roll.

Kayla Mayers and Sarah Klein have been hired as instructors at the Fort Wayne Center for Learning.

Tammy Kleinman, network operations center manager at ENS Group, earned the Microsoft Certified Solutions Associate: Windows Server 2012 certification.

Cherie Wright of Travel Leaders has been designated as a Cruise Lines International Association cruise counselor after recently completing the organization’s certification requirements. Wright is also registered and working toward her master cruise counselor certification.

Dean Beer of Berne received the first place Indiana Soybean Yieldmaster award in the annual Corn and Soybean Yieldmaster Contest. Dairyland Seed recently announced the national and state award winners.

Nick Alles was hired as the new resource specialist in the Huntington County field office serving as part of the division of soil conservation team.

Kevin Mullett, product development director and social media specialist for web developer Cirrus ABS, recently spoke at SMX Toronto, the Search Marketing Expo Ontario, Canada.

Chris Smith, mortgage loan originator with Hallmark Home Mortgage, has added Michigan to his territory. Smith now originates loans in Indiana, Ohio and Michigan.

Laura Cobbs with Century 21 Bradley Realty Inc. was named a top individual producer for the month of February.

Tom Goff of Northern Insurance recently completed the Commercial Casualty Institute, one of five seminars required to complete the Certified Insurance Counselor designation.

Coldwell Banker Roth Wehrly Graber announced the winners of company awards given to Realtors in its 12 offices: Jo Albertson, Kimberley DeGroot, Tom Hansen, Kim Hart, Michelle Hinton, John Houser, Denise Oberley, five-year anniversary; Denise DeFay and Bill Johnson, 10 years; Judy Munoz and Susie Hitchcock, 15 years; Martin Brandenberger, Duane Wilder and Sandy Williams, 20 years; Sharon Melton-Hall and Irma Smith, 25 year anniversary. Linda Franks, Carolyn Stemen, Ben Craver, Terrie-Esterline, Kevin Handley, David Smith and Miguel Montiel received International Coldwell Banker Awards. Mary Dale, Betty Sue Rowe and Joyce Swartz, $10 million club; Martin Brandenberger, $30 million club; Sally Bailey, Deb Paton-Showley Group, $15 million club; Tim Murray, $17 million club; the Brown Home Team, $22 million club; Craig Walker and Barb Hendrick, $31 million club; and Greg Brown, Duane Miller and Rick Hilker, Riverbend Title Top Supporting Realtors.

Crystal Harris is the People Pleaser of the Year winner from Penguin Point, Auburn; and Wayne Strader is the People Pleaser of the Year winner from Fort Wayne.

General Motors’ Fort Wayne Assembly announced organizational changes: Dustin Varvel has been promoted to material business manager; and Adam Linkenhofer recently joined Fort Wayne Assembly as a new salaried employee assigned to the material department as material group leader.

Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne’s Chancellor, Vicky L. Carwein, has appointed Kimberly Wagner, current director of alumni relations at IPFW, as her new chief of staff effective April 1; Jeffrey R. Anderson, Ph.D., has been appointed the vice chancellor for academic affairs effective July 1; vice chancellor for student affairs George S. McClellan’s title is now vice chancellor for student affairs and enrollment management; Krissy Creager was appointed as director of the student life office; and James Velez joined the student life staff as the activities coordinator.

Steve Shriner, a senior quality engineer, will celebrate his 35th employment anniversary with PHD on April 13.

Zachary Benedict of Morrison Kattman Menze Inc. recently spoke at this year’s American Society on Aging national conference in Chicago.

Linda Simnick has joined Legacy Lending Group as a licensed mortgage originator. Doug Carroll was the overall top loan originator for February and Julie Carroll was the top purchase loan originator.

Mike Sterns has been promoted to manage the Fort Wayne branch office of Scottrade Inc., an investing services company.

Employees of iAB Financial Bank who will be celebrating milestone anniversaries with the organization during 2013 were recognized for their service at an employee meeting. They are Cindy Delagrange, 35 years of service; Sheila Smith, 25 years; Wayne Paff, 20 years; Dick Bowman, Rick Gentis, Krista Herman, Teresa Hosler, Stacy Kellam, Mike Marhenke, Jill Newhard and Meegan Siegwarth, 15 years; Amie Baumgartner, Joe Byers, Sherri Chaney, Clay Crum, Penny Kinser, Marysia Klus-Wallace, Phil Kosmala, Sally Stoller and Lori Witte, 10 years; and Laura Baker, Jenica Bauer, Erica Bennett, Patti Bustos, Seth Endsley, Dana Garver, Mark Hamilton, Angelyn Hoekema, Jane Horwedel, Cindy Kaluza, Jeff Krivacs, Susan Lambert, Brigitte Mathys, Nancy McClain, Lori Neidich, Ray Paxson, Pam Whetstone and Allen Wise, five years of service.

Rob Harris with Re/Max Results ranked first overall for total residential transactions closed in 2012 for the Re/Max of Indiana network. John Sullivan and the Sullivan Team were awarded the Platinum Club Award by Re/Max of Indiana.

Amanda J. Snow, an Avon representative, was crowned a divisional winner in Avon’s Makeup Maven contest, an online makeup video contest open to Avon representatives nationwide.

John H. Brandt of Beckman Lawson LLP was selected as an Indiana Super Lawyer for 2013 in the area of family law. Brandt was also selected by his peers to be included in the 2013 publication of Indiana’s Best Lawyers.

Kendra Klink, operations director of the Auburn Cord Duesenberg Automobile Museum, has been chosen as a member of the Greater Fort Wayne Business Weekly “40 Under 40” class of 2013.