You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.





American League

BOSTON RED SOX – Optioned C Ryan Lavarnway to Pawtucket (IL). Reassigned RHP Anthony Carter and RHP Jose De La Torre to their minor league camp.

CLEVELAND INDIANS – Announced Rule 5 Draft selection INF Chris Mcguiness was returned to Texas.

DETROIT TIGERS – Optioned OF Quintin Berry to Toledo (IL).

KANSAS CITY ROYALS – Agreed to terms with LHP Garrett Sherrill and OF Xavier Nady on minor league contracts. Optioned Donnie Joseph to Omaha (PCL).

LOS ANGELES ANGELS – Signed RHP Mark Lowe to a minor league contract.

MINNESOTA TWINS – Optioned RHP Alex Burnett to Rochester (IL).

NEW YORK YANKEES – Claimed RHP Sam Demel off waivers from Houston.

SEATTLE MARINERS – Optioned RHP Erasmo Ramirez to Tacoma. Reassigned RHP Jeremy Bonderman to their minor league camp.

TEXAS RANGERS – Assigned INF Chris Mcguiness outright to Round Rock (PCL). Announced Rule 5 Draft selection RHP Coty Woods was returned to Colorado.

National League

CHICAGO CUBS – Claimed RHP Guillermo Moscoso off waivers from Toronto. Placed RHP Arodys Vizcaino on the 60-day DL.

CINCINNATI REDS – Reassigned LHP Wilkin De La Rosa and RHP Clay Hensley to their minor league camp.

COLORADO ROCKIES – Reassigned INF DJ LeMahieu to their minor league camp.

MILWAUKEE BREWERS – Signed INF Yuniesky Betancourt to a one-year contract. Released INF Donnie Murphy. Placed SS Jeff Bianchi and 1B Corey Hart on the 15-day DL, retroactive to March 22.

PITTSBURGH PIRATES – Optioned RHP Kyle McPherson, INF Jordy Mercer and OF Alex Presley to Indianapolis (IL). Reassigned C Lucas May, RHP Vin Mazzaro, C Carlos Paulino, OF Felix Pie, RHP Ryan Reid and LHP Mike Zagurski to their minor league camp. Selected the contracts of LHP Jonathan Sanchez and 3B Brandon Inge from Indianapolis. Designated 1B Hunter Strickland and RHP Clint Robinson for assignment.

SAN DIEGO PADRES – Agreed to terms with RHP Josh Geer on a minor league contract.

WASHINGTON NATIONALS – Reassigned LHP Fernando Abad and C Carlos Maldonado to minor league camp.

Frontier League

EVANSVILLE OTTERS – Signed SS Taylor Black to a contract extension. Signed C Sam Mahoney.


JOLIET SLAMMERS – Signed LHP Lucas Goodgion.

NORMAL CORNBELTERS – Released OF Tyler Wiesemeyer.



UTAH JAZZ–Signed G Jerel McNeal to a 10-day contract.



ARIZONA CARDINALS – Signed S Jonathon Amaya.

BALTIMORE RAVENS–Agreed to terms with S Michael Huff on a three-year contract.

CAROLINA PANTHERS – Re-signed DT Dwan Edwards.

DALLAS COWBOYS – Released WR Anthony Armstrong. Signed S Will Allen and LB Justin Durant.

MIAMI DIOLPHINS – Signed OL Lance Louis.

OAKLAND RAIDERS – Released DT Tommy Kelly.

SAN DIEGO CHARGERS – Released OT Jared Gaither.


MONTREAL ALOUETTES–Signed RB Dominic Rhodes to a two-year contract.



BOSTON BRUINS – Claimed F Kaspars Daugavins off waivers from Ottawa. Recalled D Torey Krug from Providence (AHL).

DALLAS STARS – Recalled F Reilly Smith from Texas (AHL).

PITTSBURGH PENGUINS – Placed D Kris Letang on injured reserve.


CONNECTICUT WHALE – Announced D Jyri Niemi was reassigned to Greenville (ECHL).

PEORIA RIVERMEN – Signed D Nick Walters to an amateur tryout contract.


ELMIRA JACKALS – Announced D Ben Blood was reassigned to the team from Binghamton (AHL).


BIG EAST CONFERENCE – Announced the soon-to-be-renamed conference has accepted East Carolina for all sports, effective July 1, 2014.

APPALACHIAN STATE – Announced it is leaving the Southern Conference to join the Sun Belt Conference in 2014.

CONNECTICUT – Signed women’s basketball coach Geno Auriemma to a contract extension through the 2017-18 season.

GEORGIA SOUTHERN – Announced it has accepted an invitation to join the Sun Belt Conference in 2014.

MEMPHIS – Agreed to terms with men’s basketball coach Josh Pastner to a contract extension.

NOTRE DAME – Announced freshmen WR’s Davonte’ Neal and Justin Ferguson are no longer with the football team.

OKLAHOMA – Announced junior F Amath M’Baye will enter the NBA draft.

SETON HALL–Named Tony Bozzella women’s basketball coach, Phil Stern women’s associate head basketball coach and Lauren DeFalco women’s assistant basketball coach.

ST. JOSEPH’S (IND.) – Fired men’s basketball coach Richard Davis and women’s basketball coach Brandon Turner.

WASHINGTON (MD.) – Announced the resignation of women’s basketball coach Megan Duran.