You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.


  • 2011's drug ring bust: Where are they now?
    More than three years after the members of the drug trafficking ring were rousted from their homes, cuffed and taken into federal custody, nearly all now know their fate.
  • Fifth man handed 10 years for nabbing, beating teen
    The fifth of six then-teenagers who beat and held hos­tage another teen before dumping him in a park with bleeding on his brain and a fractured sternum was sentenced to prison Friday.
  • Report public, Wartell says
    In the five months since an investigative report was declared evidence in former IPFW Chancellor Mike Wartell's lawsuit against Purdue University, university attorneys never asked for a court order to keep it from the public.
Allen Superior Court Judge – Civil Division
*Craig Bobay, Allen Circuit Court magistrate
*Jennifer DeGroote, Allen Superior Court magistrate, Small Claims Division
*Michael Michmerhuizen, partner at law firm Barrett & McNagny
Michael McAlexander, Allen County chief deputy prosecutor
Laurie Gray, attorney, author, owner of Socratic Parenting LLC, former Allen County deputy prosecutor
Carrie Hawk Gutman, associate at law firm Hawk, Haynie, Kammeyer & Chickedantz
Patrick Proctor, partner at law firm Eilbacher Fletcher
John Cowan, associate at law firm Tourkow, Crell, Rosenblatt & Johnston
*– Denotes three nominations for governor’s selection Allen County Judicial Nominating Commission
Jonathan C. Ray, president and CEO, Fort Wayne Urban League
Edward E. Beck, partner at law firm Shambaugh, Kast, Beck & Williams
Suzan Rutz, partner at law firm Helmke Beams
Angela J. Moellering, president and CEO, Lutheran Social Services
Mark W. Terrell, CEO, Lifeline Youth and Family Services
James O’Connor Jr., partner at law firm Barrett & McNagny

3 nominated for vacant judgeship


The Allen County judicial nominating commission picked three names Friday to send to Indianapolis for the vacant Allen Superior Court judicial seat.

Indiana Gov. Mike Pence has 60 days to pick one of the three to fill the vacant seat.

Those three are two current Allen County magistrates and a partner at a local law firm.

Allen Circuit Magistrate Craig Bobay, Allen Superior Court Magistrate Jennifer DeGroote and Michael Michmerhuizen, a partner at Barrett & McNagny, have been nominated to fill the seat of Allen Superior Court Judge Dan Heath.

Heath, who served in the Superior Court’s Civil Division, moved to the Superior Court’s Family Relations Division to take the spot of Allen Superior Court Judge Steve Sims, who retired effective Friday.

The three names came from a list of eight candidates who each spent about 40 minutes with the commission Thursday afternoon in the council committee room in the basement of Citizens Square.

The nominating commission was made up of members of the local bar association as well as community leaders, and it was led by Indiana Supreme Court Justice Steven David.

One of the attorneys on the commission was James O’Connor Jr., also a partner at Barrett & McNagny. According to Indiana Supreme Court officials, the partnership was disclosed before the interviews and he would not vote on Michmerhuizen’s candidacy.

O’Connor did not ask Michmerhuizen any questions during Thursday’s interview process.