You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Indiana University

NCAA baseball
Bloomington regional
At Bart Kaufman Field
Game 1: Florida (29-28) vs. Austin Peay (45-13), 1 p.m.
Game 2: Valparaiso (31-26) at Indiana (43-14), 7 p.m.
Game 3: Game 1 loser vs. Game 2 loser, 2 p.m.
Game 4: Game 1 winner vs. Game 2 winner, 6 p.m.

Game 5: Game 3 winner vs. Game 4 loser, 1 p.m.
Game 6: Game 4 winner vs. Game 5 winner, 7 p.m.

x-Game 7: Game 4 winner vs. Game 5 winner, 7 p.m.
x-if necessary

IU hosting 1st regional, opens with Valparaiso

– The best season in Indiana baseball history will continue Friday through Monday in Bloomington.

The Hoosiers (43-14) will attempt to extend their season against Valparaiso (31-26), winner of the Horizon League title Sunday, on their home field in the NCAA regional. Florida (29-28) and Austin Peay (45-13) will head to Bloomington for the opening round as well. Valparaiso beat Wright State 3-0 to win its second-straight conference title.

It is the first time in program history that IU has hosted a regional.

IU, the No. 14 team in the country, is one of two Midwestern teams that will host a regional this season.

Five ACC teams, including Florida State, North Carolina, North Carolina State, Virginia and Virginia Tech, will play host to the opening-round games.

Four SEC schools – LSU, Mississippi State, South Carolina and Vanderbilt – are also slotted as sites for play.

The Hoosiers have put together a historic season en route to their regional bid.

IU won its first outright regular-season conference title since 1932 with a 15-6 Big Ten record. The Hoosiers picked up their first Big Ten tournament championship since 2009 on Sunday with a 4-3 win against Nebraska.

The team gathered at Yogi’s Grill and Bar in Bloomington to watch the selection show at noon Monday on ESPNU and see the 64-team field that will join them on the path to the College World Series.

The opening round of the NCAA tournament features 16 four-team pools and a double-elimination format.

The winner of the opening round regional goes on to a best-of-three Super Regional against the winner of a separate opening-round pool. North Carolina was the No. 1 overall seed, followed by Vanderbilt, Oregon State, LSU, Cal State Fullerton, Virginia, Florida State and Oregon.

The top eight teams are guaranteed as hosts for the Super Regional if they advance past the opening round. Winners of the Super Regional advance to the College World Series in Omaha, Neb.

If Indiana advances out of its pool in Bloomington, it will face the winner of the Seminoles’ regional. Florida State has Troy, Savannah State and Alabama in its opening round in Tallahassee, Fla.

Reserved seats for all sessions of the opening round in Bloomington are $77, and single-session reserved seats are $15 apiece. General all-session seating is $63, with single-session tickets at $12.

Students and youth tickets are $35 for all sessions and $8 on a per-session basis. Tickets can be bought by calling the IU Ticket Office at 866-487-76787.