You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Motor Racing

  • Harvick captures pole for Atlanta
    Kevin Harvick won the pole for the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race Sunday night at Atlanta Motor Speedway. Harvick turned a fast lap of 29.
  • Stewart says Ward's death will affect him forever
    HAMPTON, Ga. – Unshaven and with a quivering voice, NASCAR superstar Tony Stewart said the death of Kevin Ward will “affect my life forever” as he returned to the track Friday for the first time since his car struck and killed the
  • Stewart plans to race Sunday in Atlanta
    Tony Stewart will return to Sprint Cup competition Sunday night at Atlanta Motor Speedway, ending a three-race hiatus taken after he struck and killed a fellow driver during a dirt-track race.

In the news: HOSS Sprints finally returns to Baer Field

HOSS Sprints finally returns to Baer Field

What the rain delayed will, weather permitting, be on display Saturday night at Baer Field Speedway.

The HOSS Outlaw Winged Sprints, whose 2013 debut was rained out on opening night this season, will try it again Saturday on the half-mile track. Defending series champion Joe Swanson will headline a field expected to include 2012 Baer Field winners Troy DeCaire and Geoff Kaiser; former series champs Aaron Pierce and Jason Cox; Chris Neuenschwander and Kyle Henry from Fort Wayne; and Baer Field Hall of Famer Hank Lower.

In addition, a full five-division Super Show on the three-eighths-mile circuit will accompany the HOSS Sprints. Heading into the first official weekend of summer, John Gatton Jr., the 2004 track champion, leads the Late Model points over brothers Tommy, Al Jr. and Dean Cook.

Scott Coe leads the Fantastic Sams Modifieds points over Jeremy Wallen, Michael Mayes, Brent Martin, Jerry Hammond, Don Skaggs, Zack Loe, Jan Long, Matt Dimit and Jeff Schmidt.

Ryan McIntyre leads Zack Vandall and Frank Casagrande in the Street Stocks. Jan Long, Shawn Bonar, Dave Bice, Alex Vonderau, Marcus Method Jr., Josh Perkins and Stephen Bacon are next in line.

Rookie Keith Barber leads defending champ Kevin Dibble in the Afdent Mini-Stocks, followed by Alan Puff, Zac Sipe, Brad McBride, Jake Hinton, Michael Mayes, Lee Gillingham, Rob Nave and Eric Woods.

Brian Janes leads Bob Masters, Shawn Poffenberger and Derrick Poppe in Front Wheel Drive points.

Gates open Saturday at 1 p.m. with qualifying at 5 p.m. and racing at 7:30. Adult admission is $20 with ages 12 and younger free.

The weekend at the track starts with pavement go-kart racing at 8 p.m. Friday and wraps up with short-track drag racing Sunday.

– Journal Gazette