You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Full Count

  • TinCaps staffer honored
    TinCaps director of promotions and community relations Abby Naas was named the Midwest League's Female Executive of the Year.
  • Padres, TinCaps renew development contract
    The TinCaps said today they have renewed their player development contract with San Diego through the 2016 season.
  • TinCaps' 2009 title team makes Single-A history
    Seventeen members of the 2009 TinCaps have broken into the major leagues, a Class A record, according to information provided by the TinCaps from Sports Reference president Sean Forman.

TinCaps 'balk' at success

Well, this about sums things up for the TinCaps lately, doesn't it?

In the bottom of the first inning, a balk from Lake County pitcher Ryan Merritt allowed Mallex Smith, who got on base in the first place via a walk, to advance to second. But then a tremendous throw from catcher Erc Haase negated Smith's attempt to steal third.

They shouldn't have gone for it; Diego Goris and Gabriel Quintana promptly singled but the TinCaps got no runs.

In the bottom of the second, there was another balk, advancing Tyler Stubblefield to second and drawing the ire of Lake County manager Scooter Tucker. Then, Corey Adamson and Brian Adams struck out to end the inning with, again, no runs.

It's scoreless midway through the third inning.