You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Eyeing IU

  • Ex-Hoosier rower aboard shot-down plane
    An Indiana University student was among those killed in the Malaysia Airlines jet crash Thursday, university officials announced.
  • Coleman on watch list
    Hoosiers star Tevin Coleman was named today to the watch list for the Doak Walker Award, given each year to the nation's top running back.
  • Hoosiers learn kick time, TV for opener
    The Big Ten announced on Wednesday kickoff times and TV plans for the opening weeks of the upcoming football season. The Hoosiers found out their Aug.

7 additions made to IU Athletics Hall of Fame

Indiana men's soccer coach Todd Yeagley and assistant coach Brian Maisonneuve headline the Indiana Athletics Hall of Fame class of 2013, which was released Thursday by the university.

"This great class of inductees represents the highest achievements and ideals of IU Athletics," athletic director Fred Glass said in a statement. "It is a source of great pride to be able to recognize these legendary athletes, coaches, and administrators with our highest honor."

Yeagley and Maisonneuve played for IU from 1991-94, and both moved on to professional soccer afterward. Maisonneuve represented the U.S. in the 1996 Olympics and 1998 World Cup, and he and Yeagley played with the Columbus Crew in the MLS. Both made their way back to coaching and crafted a legacy in Bloomington again in 2012, when the Hoosiers earned their eighth national championship in the sport.

IU will also honor William Lowe Bryan, who was president of the university from 1902-37. Bryan, who played baseball for the Hoosiers in 1884, led the effort to get IU into the Big Ten conference during his tenure. The former president also served as vice president from 1893-1902.

Larry Barbiere, who swam for IU from 1970-73 and competed for the 1968 Olympic team, will be honored. Barbiere was an 11-time All-American for the Hoosiers, and IU won four Big Ten and NCAA championships during his career.

Amy McGrath, a 1980 Olympian and member of the IU swimming and diving team from 1980-82, also made the 2013 class.

Former men's golf coach Bob Fitch (1956-88) and sprinter Mike Goodrich (1969-71) will also be commemorated.