You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Indiana University

  • Hoosiers stun Tigers
      Mark Murphy ran to the southeast corner of Memorial Stadium, a grin stretched across his face, fists pumping in triumph Saturday. For four years, the senior safety had waited for a moment like this.
  • Hoosiers bask in signature moment
      Kevin Wilson has his signature win. For more than three years, he told onlookers his system would work at Indiana. He said it was possible to win at a basketball behemoth short on football success.
  • IU faces huge challenge on defense again
    Coming off a loss at Bowling Green that produced less-than-desirable defensive results, Indiana believes a more aggressive scheme is needed to help slow Maty Mauk and the No. 18 Missouri Tigers.

IU soccer coaches to enter Hall

Indiana men’s soccer coach Todd Yeagley and assistant coach Brian Maisonneuve headline the Indiana Athletics Hall of Fame class of 2013, which was released Thursday by the university.

“This great class of inductees represents the highest achievements and ideals of IU Athletics,” athletic director Fred Glass said in a statement.

“It is a source of great pride to be able to recognize these legendary athletes, coaches, and administrators with our highest honor.”

Yeagley and Maisonneuve played for IU from 1991-94 and both played professional soccer.

Maisonneuve represented the U.S. in the 1996 Olympics and 1998 World Cup, and he and Yeagley played with the Columbus Crew in the MLS.

Both made their way back to coaching and crafted a legacy in Bloomington again in 2012, when the Hoosiers earned their eighth national championship in the sport.

IU will also honor William Lowe Bryan, who was president of the university from 1902-37.

Bryan, who played baseball for the Hoosiers in 1884, led the effort to get IU into the Big Ten conference during his tenure.

The former president also was vice president from 1893 to 1902.

Larry Barbiere, who swam for IU from 1970-73 and competed for the 1968 Olympic team, will be honored. Barbiere was an 11-time All-American for the Hoosiers, and IU won four Big Ten and NCAA championships during his career.

Amy McGrath, a 1980 Olympian and member of the IU swimming and diving team from 1980-82, also made the 2013 class.

Former men’s golf coach Bob Fitch (1956-88) and sprinter Mike Goodrich (1969-71) will also be honored.