You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.





American League

NEW YORK YANKEES – Announced the retirement of LHP Andy Pettitte at the end of the season.



NFL – Fined N.Y. Jets G Willie Colon $34,125 – $26,250 for contact with an official, and $7,875 for punching an opponent. Fined Tennessee RB Jackie Battle $21,000 for lowering the crown of his helmet into an opponent, Philadelphia LB DeMeco Ryans $21,000 for a hit to the head and neck area of San Diego WR Malcom Floyd and Tampa Bay DE Adrian Clayborn $21,000 for a helmet-to-helmet hit on New Orleans QB Drew Brees. Fined New England DE Chandler Jones $15,750 for roughing N.Y. Jets QB Geno Smith and Chicago CB Charles Tillman $15,750 for a horse-collar tackle of Minnesota WR Greg Jennings. Fined N.Y. Jets OT D’Brickashaw Ferguson $15,000 for punching a New England player. Fined Tennessee C Robert Turner and Washington OL Will Montgomery $10,000 each for illegal peel-back blocks. Fined New England DE Michael Buchanan, CB Alfonzo Dennard and DT Vince Wilfork $7,875 each for throwing punches. Fined Cleveland LB Paul Kruger $7,875 for pulling off an opponent’s helmet and Washington LS Nick Sundberg $7,875 for unnecessary roughness against Green Bay’s M.D. Jennings.



CHICAGO BLACKHAWKS – Assigned G Mac Carruth to Rockford (AHL).

NASHVILLE PREDATORS – Assigned D Taylor Aronson, D Anthony Bitetto, F Zach Budish, D Charles-Olivier Roussel and F Josh Shalla to Milwaukee (AHL). Reassigned F Felix Girard to Baie-Comeau (QMJHL), Mikko D Vainonen to Kingston (OHL) and F Tommy Veilleux to Victoriaville (QMJHL). Released D Kayle Doetzel, F Sebastian Geoffrion, G Eric Levine, D Michael Moffat, G Cody Reichard, D Teddy Ruth and G Allen York from their tryout agreements.

NEW JERSEY DEVILS – Assigned G Maxime Clermont, D Seth Helgeson, D Raman Hrabarenka, D Dan Kelly, D Corbin McPherson, D Reece Scarlett, F Reid Boucher, F Riley Boychuk, F Mike Hoeffel, F Chris McKelvie, F Harri Pesonen, F Ben Thomson, F Joe Whitney, F David Wohlberg and F Darcy Zajac to Albany (AHL). Returned G Anthony Brodeur, F Myles Bell, F Graham Black, F Remy Giftopoulos, F Ben Johnson and F Ryan Kujawinski to their junior hockey league teams.

TAMPA BAY LIGHTNING – Assigned F Adam Erne to Quebec (QMJHL).

WINNIPEG JETS – Reassigned F Austen Brassard, RW Blair Riley, D Brenden Kichton, D Cody Sol, F J.C. Lipon, LW Jason Jaffray, F John Albert, G Jussi Olkinuora, C Kael Mouillierat and D Will O’Neill to St. John’s (AHL). Released F Ian White from his tryout contract.



MLS – Suspended Toronto FC MF Jonathan Osorio two games and fined him an undisclosed amount for his act of violent conduct that endangered the safety of New York D Kosuke Kimura in a Sept. 14 game. Fined New York MF Dax McCarty an undisclosed amount for violating the policy regarding hands to the face/head of an opponent and New York D Jamison Olave for violent conduct in a Sept. 14 game against Toronto FC. Suspended Montreal sporting director Nick De Santis one game and fined him an undisclosed amount for continued aggressive, confrontational, and irresponsible behavior toward the match officials following the Sept. 14 game against Columbus.