You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.


  • Guidelight
    Church celebration Broadway Christian Church, 910 Broadway, will observe its 40th anniversary with a church picnic today followed by a celebration service at 10 a.m. Sunday.
  • people and places
    Giving back• Local 232 of the Indiana/Kentucky/Ohio Regional Council of Carpenters volunteered during the annual United Way of Allen County Day of Caring.
  • marriage licenses
    Godfrey Blaine Sensibaugh and Kelsey Ruth CottrellNathan Alexander Ochoa and Michelle Lynn DecampMartin J. Graber and Lucinda M.

people and places


•The Mary Penrose Wayne Chapter of the National Society Daughters of the American Revolution will honor Martha Barnhart, who was elected treasurer general at the 122nd Continental Congress, from 2 to 4 p.m. Oct. 20 in the Shields Room at the History Center, 302 E. Berry St.

Phyllis Herrington of Montpelier, Ohio, received the 2013 Marion P. Hammer Woman of Distinction Award from the National Rifle Association.

Matthew Dyer of Wolcottville served as the official Riley Coin Toss Kid for the Indianapolis Colts game on Oct. 6.

Giving back

•The American Heart Association’s area Go Red for Women group and McMahon Tires will offer health and car information for women from 9 a.m. to noon today at 4201 Coldwater Road.

Pathfinder Community Connections of Pathfinder Services in Huntington received $5,000 from the Community Foundation of Greater Fort Wayne for Allen County community development.

NeighborLink Fort Wayne received $5,000 from the Home Depot Foundation to support local veterans.

Pretzels Inc. donated $250,000 toward the new Bluffton Family YMCA.

Mensa test set

The Mensa qualifying test will be at 10 a.m. Oct. 19 at University of Saint Francis, John Paul II building, Room 113, 2701 Spring St. Cost is $40 and registration begins at 9:30 a.m.