You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Local politics

  • Debate low on conflict
    Their neckties were about all that clashed Tuesday dur­ing a debate of the three congressional candidates in Indiana's 3rd District. Second-term Republican Rep.
  • Debate low on conflict
    Their neckties were about all that clashed Tuesday dur­ing a debate of the three congressional candidates in Indiana’s 3rd District.Second-term Republican Rep.
  • Stutzman challengers count on TV debate
    Two long-shot candidates for a seat in Congress say Tuesday’s televised debate offers the best chance for them to lure votes away from Rep. Marlin Stutzman, R-3rd.

2 challenge Bloom; 2 vie in GOP race for sheriff

Allen County Commissioner Linda Bloom will have to fight to keep her 3rd District seat.

As of Friday’s filing deadline, Bloom will face Roy Buskirk and Michael Mills in the May 6 Republican primary.

Bloom has served five terms as a county commissioner, Buskirk has been on the County Council for more than a decade.

Mills faced Buskirk in the 2012 council at-large primary but came in last in a six-way race.

In District 2, Commissioner Therese Brown is unchallenged.

In the race to replace term-limited Allen County Sheriff Ken Fries, Chief Deputy David Gladieux will face Indiana State Police Sgt. Luke NaThalang in the Republican primary. David Roach is unopposed on the Democratic side.

Republican Allen County Assessor Stacey O’Day is being challenged by Kimberly Klerner; Democrat Sam Walker is unopposed.

Three Allen County offices are unopposed: Republicans Circuit Court Clerk Lisbeth Borgmann and County Auditor Tera Klutz have no challengers, and Anita Mather is the lone candidate to replace term-limited County Recorder John McGauley.

That’s not the case for County Council District 3, where five Republicans have filed to replace Buskirk.

Travis Armstrong, Gary Washington, Joel Benz, Tom Rotering, and Gwendolyn Sordelet will compete to fill the seat Buskirk vacates as he runs for County Commissioner.

In District 1, Republican Council member Kevin Howell is being challenged by Joe (Fluoride Man) Renner, who often makes presentations lobbying for the removal of fluoride from Fort Wayne’s municipal water supply. Sharon Tucker is the lone Democrat in the race.

Incumbent Republican Tom Harris is unopposed in District 2, as is Republican Larry Brown in District 4, though he will face Democrat Austin Carpenter in November.

Wayne Township Trustee Rick Stevenson is unopposed, as is Republican Aboite Township Trustee Barbara Krisher, but competition is fierce in St. Joe Township as four Republican candidates are vying to replace Richard Uhrick.

Sarah Gnagy, Barry Kunkle, Ken Richardson and Ed Morris will all face off in the primary.

No Democrats filed.