You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.


  • Davis' accomplishments still inspire despite loss
    SOUTH WILLIAMSPORT, Pa. — Mo'ne Davis will look like a typical eighth-grader when she begins classes at Philadelphia's Springside Chestnut Hill Academy in a couple of weeks.Thick braids? Check. Bright smile?
  • British swimmer breaks 50 breaststroke record
    BERLIN – Adam Peaty of Great Britain has set a world record in the 50-meter breaststroke, finishing in 26.62 seconds in a semifinal heat at the European Swimming Championship on Friday.
  • National Soccer Festival on, but parking changes
    The Shindigz National Soccer Festival is on schedule and games will be played tonight and Saturday as planned, but heavy rains overnight require changes in parking, festival officials said today.




Sporting Kansas City at Seattle FC, 3 p.m.

Columbus at D.C. United, 7 p.m.

New York at Vancouver, 7:30 p.m.

New England at Houston, 8:30 p.m.

Montreal at FC Dallas, 8:30 p.m.

Philadelphia at Portland, 10:30 p.m.

Real Salt Lake at Los Angeles, 10:30 p.m.


Chicago at Chivas USA, 3 p.m.

U.S. National Team


Ukraine 2, U.S. 0

At Larnaca, Cyprus

United States 0 0 0
Ukraine 1 1 2
First half–1, Ukraine, Yarmolenko (Garmash), 12th minute.

Second half–2, Ukraine, Devic, 68th minute.

Yellow Cards–Fedetskiy, Ukr, 65th; Bezus, Ukr, 84th. Red Cards–None.

Referee–Leontios Trattou, Cyprus. Linesmen–Michael Soteriou, Cyprus; Athinodoros Ioannou, Cyprus. A–1,573.


United States–Tim Howard; Geoff Cameron, Oguchi Onyewu, John Brooks, Edgar Castillo (Brek Shea, 63rd); Alejandro Bedoya, Jermaine Jones (Daniel Williams, 80th), Clint Dempsey, Sacha Kljestan (Aron Johannsson, 63rd), Fabian Johnson; Jozy Altidore (Juan Agudelo, 85th)

Ukraine–Andriy Pyatov; Yevhen Khachiridi, Anatoliy Tymoschuk, Olexander Kucher, Andriy Yarmolenko; Roman Zozulya (Marko Devic, 66th), Yevhen Konoplyanka, Vyacheslav Shevchuk, Ruslan Rotan (Edmar Halovskiy, 78th); Artem Fedetskiy, Denys Garmash (Roman Bezus, 46th)