You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Boiling Point

  • LB Robinson out for season
    Senior captain Sean Robinson will miss the remainder of the season with a torn ACL
  • Purdue's 7-footers star in scrimmage
    Hammons, Haas combine for 39 points and 16 rebounds
  • Purdue loses to Minnesota
    MINNEAPOLIS — David Cobb rushed for 194 yards and a touchdown and Ryan Santoso kicked a 52-yard field goal with 4:59 left to cap Minnesota's comeback on Saturday, giving the Gophers a 39-38 victory over Purdue and their first 3-0 start in Big

Hammons, Stephens win Big Ten honors

The Big Ten announced Monday evening its year-end awards, which had a hint of Indiana and Purdue flavor.

Hoosiers center Noah Vonleh won the conference's freshman of the year award. Coaches and media made teammate Yogi Ferrell a unanimous selection to the all-conference second team.

Vonleh is the 10th Hoosier to win the award and first since Cody Zeller in 2012. Vonleh is averaging 11.4 points and a league-best 9.1 rebounds. He also was named to the all-league third team.

Purdue wing Kendall Stephens, who is tied for second among Big Ten freshmen in scoring behind Vonleh, was named to the all-freshman team. Stephens has made 63 3-pointers.

Purdue center A.J. Hammons made the all-defensive team. Indiana forward Will Sheehey was an all-conference honorable mention.

Michigan small forward Nik Stauskas was named player of the year.

Stauskas, Michigan shooting guard Gary Harris, Iowa shooting guard Roy Devyn Marble, Nebraska shooting guard Terran Petteway and Wisconsin center Frank Kaminsky made up the all-conference first team.

Peers voted Nebraska's Tim Miles as coach of the year. The Cornhuskers were picked to finish last, but Miles guided them to a 19-11 record and the No. 4 seed in the Big Ten tournament.

Media went with Michigan's John Beilein, who led the Wolverines to a 23-7 record despite star center Mitch McGary playing in only eight games.

Ohio State point guard Aaron Craft, the defensive player of the year, was joined on the all-defensive first team by teammate Shannon Scott, Hammons, Harris and Wisconsin small forward Josh Gasser.

Hammons averaged 2.6 blocks in conference play and is the first Boilermaker to make all-defense since JaJuan Johnson in 2011.

Wisconsin's Nigel Hayes was voted sixth man of the year.