Political Notebook

  • Shepard to receive democracy award
    The Benjamin Harrison Presidential Site has announced Randall T. Shepard of Evansville as the recipient of the 2014 Advancing American Democracy Award.
  • Stutzman ready for a real recess
    Congress is off the month of August for a "district work period," but its members and the media still refer to such breaks as "recess."
  • Liz Brown gets 4 endorsements
    Liz Brown, the Republican running for the Senate District 15 seat, announced four endorsements Thursday.

Group plans Q&A forums with legislature candidates

State legislative races should ramp up this month with candidate forums planned by Fort Wayne 912.

The group plans to meet with candidates for state Senate District 15 and House District 84 on March 18 and with candidates for House Districts 83 and 85 on March 25. Each forum is at 6:30 p.m. at Classic Café, 4832 Hillegas Road, with a “one on one meet and greet” beginning at 5:45 p.m.

Fort Wayne 912 said candidates will give short introductions and then field questions from a panel. To submit questions for the candidates, go to www.fortwayne912.com.

Republican primary-election candidates in Senate District 15 are former Fort Wayne City Council member Liz Brown, Allen County Sheriff Ken Fries, business executive Jeffrey Snyder and Allen County Council member Darren Vogt. Attorney Jack Morris of Fort Wayne is unopposed in the May 6 Democratic primary.

GOP primary candidates in House District 84 are incumbent Rep. Bob Morris of Fort Wayne and Fort Wayne attorney Michael Barranda. Fred Haigh of Fort Wayne is unopposed in the Democratic primary.

Republican candidates in House District 83 are incumbent Rep. Kathy Heuer of Columbia City, Steven Hively of Columbia City and Christopher Judy of Fort Wayne.

Republican candidates in House District 85 are incumbent Rep. Casey Cox of Fort Wayne, former educator Ken Knoblauch of Woodburn and Denny Worman of Leo-Cedarville.