You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Mad Antics

  • Ants will look different
    When the Mad Ants open defense of their D-League championship this season, the roster will likely look very different.
  • Rojas signs with Spanish pro team
    Sadiel Rojas, who helped the Mad Ants to the D-League championship last season, has signed to play for UCAM Murcia in Spain this season.
  • Ants could have 13 affiliates this season
    The Mad Ants could have as many as 13 NBA affiliates this season, after spending last season with six.

Howard named to all-league first team

Ron Howard, who was the D-League’s co-MVP and led the Mad Ants to their first championship, was selected First Team all-league by coaches.

Also receiving the honor were Iowa’s Othyus Jeffers, the other co-MVP, Rio Grande Valley’s Robert Covington, Sioux Falls’ Justin Hamilton and Idaho’s Kevin Murphy.

Howard, whose Mad Ants completed their undefeated run through the playoffs with a 119-113 victory over Santa Cruz on Saturday, is the only player on the First Team never to spend time in the NBA. He averaged 20.5 points, 4.3 rebounds and 4.3 assists in the regular season.

The second team included Canton’s Jorge Gutierrez, Santa Cruz’s Hilton Armstrong, Sioux Falls’ DeAndre Liggins, Maine’s Chris Wright and Texas’ James Nunnally.

Fort Wayne’s Tony Mitchell made the third team. Maine’s Frank Gaines, who completed his rookie season out of IPFW, was one of 12 honorable mentions, as was Fort Wayne’s Tim Ohlbrecht.

Gaines was also selected as First Team All-Rookie, while Fort Wayne’s Trey McKinney-Jones made the third team. Sadiel Rojas made the All-Defensive Third Team.