You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.


  • Szydlowski’s goal lifts Komets in OT
    The Komets endured the resiliency and physical play of the Kalamazoo Wings – some would call it dirty play – and emerged with a 3-2 overtime victory Friday in front of 5,122 fans at Wings Stadium.
  • Komets’ newcomer shakes off rust
    During the first weekend of the Komets’ season, forward Matthew Pistilli had two goals, three points and a plus-3 rating in two games.
  • Komets’ forward has goals organized
    Amid the franchise-record 12 trades the Komets made during the up-and-down 2013-14 season, a gem was found in the form of forward Mike Embach.

Komets list 21 protected players

The Komets submitted their list of protected players to the ECHL.

They maintain exclusive negotiating rights with these players until the season-ending rosters are due June 15, and there’s no limit on the number of players they can protect.

The protected players are goaltenders John Muse and Ben Meisner; defensemen Simon Danis-Pepin, Justin Sefton, Matthew Maione, Jace Coyle, Joe Hartman and William Lacasse; and forwards Matt Carter, Scott Fleming, Brandon Marino, Mike Embach, Sy Nutkevitch, Aaron Clarke, Christian Ouellet, Chris Auger, Kaleigh Schrock, Jason Dale, Kenton Miller, Dean Ouellet and David Rutherford.

Marino, the ECHL’s leading scorer last season, and Dean Ouellet have already signed to play next season in Europe.

Rutherford has never played a game with the Komets; he didn’t report after being acquired from Orlando for Mickey Lang in December. Muse played in the season-opening game last season before being called up to the AHL.

Goalie Andrey Makarov and forward Shawn Szydlowski weren’t eligible to be protected because they were assigned to the Komets by the Buffalo Sabres last season.

Defenseman Jordon Southorn wasn’t eligible because of a prior agreement he made with the Komets, who were eliminated by Cincinnati in six games in the Eastern Conference semifinals.

Season-ending rosters may include up to 20 players and cannot include any players who did not sign an ECHL contract in 2013-14.