You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.


  • Komets add defense, scoring with pair
    The Komets were in need of a defenseman who can score and play physically.They got one Wednesday in Matt Krug, and he should be familiar to Komets fans.
  • Komets sign big defenseman
    Komets sign big defensemanThe Komets have signed 23-year-old defenseman Cody Sol, a fifth-round draft pick of the NHL’s Atlanta Thrashers in 2009.
  • Persistence puts offensive standout in Komets’ fold
    Komets coach Gary Graham and general manager David Franke had coveted forward Greg Wolfe for some time, because of his success at the collegiate level and his leadership abilities, and weeks of phone calls paid off Monday with the signing of the 24-

Komets list 21 protected players

The Komets submitted their list of protected players to the ECHL.

They maintain exclusive negotiating rights with these players until the season-ending rosters are due June 15, and there’s no limit on the number of players they can protect.

The protected players are goaltenders John Muse and Ben Meisner; defensemen Simon Danis-Pepin, Justin Sefton, Matthew Maione, Jace Coyle, Joe Hartman and William Lacasse; and forwards Matt Carter, Scott Fleming, Brandon Marino, Mike Embach, Sy Nutkevitch, Aaron Clarke, Christian Ouellet, Chris Auger, Kaleigh Schrock, Jason Dale, Kenton Miller, Dean Ouellet and David Rutherford.

Marino, the ECHL’s leading scorer last season, and Dean Ouellet have already signed to play next season in Europe.

Rutherford has never played a game with the Komets; he didn’t report after being acquired from Orlando for Mickey Lang in December. Muse played in the season-opening game last season before being called up to the AHL.

Goalie Andrey Makarov and forward Shawn Szydlowski weren’t eligible to be protected because they were assigned to the Komets by the Buffalo Sabres last season.

Defenseman Jordon Southorn wasn’t eligible because of a prior agreement he made with the Komets, who were eliminated by Cincinnati in six games in the Eastern Conference semifinals.

Season-ending rosters may include up to 20 players and cannot include any players who did not sign an ECHL contract in 2013-14.