You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Full Count

  • TinCaps' groundskeeper honored
    TinCaps head groundskeeper Keith Winter was named the Single-A Sports Turf Manager of the Year, an honor he also landed in 2013.
  • TinCaps named Ballpark Digest's team of the year
    Citing sustained success and an "amazing" commitment to community service, the online trade magazine Ballpark Digest recognized the TinCaps as its 2014 team of the year.
  • Ex-TinCap Mallex Smith voted minors' top offensive player
    Mallex Smith, who was the TinCaps' center fielder for the 2013 season and the first half of 2014, was voted by fans as the top offensive player in the minor leagues during the past season.

For starters

And now tonight's pitching matchups, plus a few odds and ends, as the TinCaps and Wisconsin Timber Rattlers wrap up a three-game set:

* Going for the TinCaps will be righthander Yimmi Brasoban, who's 1-4 with an 8.40 ERA but who's given up just one earned run his last two starts. On the bump for the Timber Rattlers is Preston Gainey (3-6, 4.03).

* With a win tonight, the TinCaps would win their second series in a row and third in their last four. They would also improve to 10-5 in their last 15 games and finish inter-division play with a 14-9 mark.

* Trea Turner has been everything advertised since joining the TinCaps. In 13 games, the No. 13 overall pick in last month’s draft is batting .471 with 12 runs scored, five doubles, one triple and six RBI. He also has stolen six bases in as many attempts. In the current homestand, he's 12-for-19 (.632) with three runs, a double and two RBI.

* The TinCaps come into tonight's game three games out of a playoff spot in the Eastern Division. They've qualified for postseason play in each of the last five seasons -- the longest active streak in the Midwest League.