Skip to main content

The Journal Gazette

  • Dr. Wendy Robinson

Tuesday, September 12, 2017 7:44 am

Verbatim: Robinson named IAPSS Superintendent of the Year

The Indiana Association of Public School Superintendents issued the following news release today:

INDIANAPOLIS – September 12, 2017 – Dr. Wendy Robinson, superintendent of Fort Wayne Community Schools, was chosen by members of the Indiana Association of Public School Superintendents (IAPSS) as the 2018 District II Superintendent of the Year.

Winners are selected by other superintendents in their district who consider the qualifications and accomplishments of area colleagues and their instructional leadership during a time of limited resources. This is Robinson's second time to be selected as the District II Superintendent of the Year. She was also the recipient in 2008.

Robinson has been in an administrator in Fort Wayne Community Schools for more than 30 years, serving as an assistant principal, principal, area administrator, assistant superintendent and deputy superintendent before becoming superintendent in 2003.

Fort Wayne Community Schools has addressed school funding challenges with a three-tiered approach 1) adopting district structures and processes that focus spending on activities that support student achievement, 2) participating in lobbying and other activities at the state level to improve funding and strengthen academic programs and 3) obtaining federal grants to help fill resource gaps. The superintendent's cabinet serves as a budget examination team to ensure all department and school-level budgets align with the district's mission, vision and core values. Improvement plans have been created throughout the district and contributed to a recent $2.5 million reduction of the transportation budget by implementing staggered school start times. The district's grant successes include $42 million over a five-year period for a Teacher Incentive Fund and $1.2 million from 2014 to 2017 for school counseling.

The district takes pride in its diversity and its nearly 90 percent graduation rate.

Robinson earned a B.S. degree in elementary education from DePauw University, two master's degrees from Indiana-Purdue University Fort Wayne, and her doctorate from Ball State University. She is a board member of Greater Fort Wayne Inc. and served as the president of the Indiana Urban Superintendents Association in 2012-2013.

One of the eight district winners will become Indiana Superintendent of the Year and represent Indiana in the American Association of School Administrators National Superintendent of the Year program.

District II includes Allen, DeKalb, Elkhart, Huntington, Kosciusko, LaGrange, Noble, Steuben, St. Joseph and Whitley counties and portions of LaPorte County.