Skip to main content

The Journal Gazette

Friday, April 12, 2019 2:22 pm

Verbatim: ECHL names Cincinnati's Schultz most valuable player

The Journal Gazette

The ECHL issued this news release today:

PRINCETON, N.J. -- The ECHL on Friday announced that Jesse Schultz of the Cincinnati Cyclones has been selected as the CCM ECHL Most Valuable Player for 2018-19.

The CCM Most Valuable Player award is presented annually to the player selected to be the most valuable to his team as determined in a vote of ECHL coaches, broadcasters, media relations directors and media members.

Adam Pleskach of Tulsa finished second, followed by Utah’s Caleb Herbert, Joe Cox of Florida and Newfoundland’s Zach O’Brien.

Schultz, who was named to the All-ECHL First Team last week, led the league in scoring with 80 points and had a league-high 58 assists, while he was tied for fourth with a +39 rating. He finished the season third in the league with 22 power-play assists and tied for sixth with 25 power-play points. Schultz had at least one point in 48 of his 71 games this season, and had 25 multi-point games.

Schultz has posted 280 points (101g-179a) in 265 career ECHL games with Columbia, Rapid City and Cincinnati

CCM ECHL Most Valuable Player Award Winners

  • 2018-19 Jesse Schultz, Cincinnati Cyclones
  • 2017-18 Shawn Szydlowski, Fort Wayne Komets
  • 2016-17 Chad Costello, Allen Americans
  • 2015-16 Chad Costello, Allen Americans
  • 2014-15 Jeff Jakaitis, South Carolina Stingrays
  • 2013-14 Mickey Lang, Orlando Solar Bears
  • 2012-13 Ryan Zapolski, South Carolina Stingrays
  • 2011-12 Chad Costello, Colorado Eagles
  • 2010-11 Wes Goldie, Alaska Aces
  • 2009-10 Tyler Donati, Elmira Jackals
  • 2008-09 Kevin Baker, Florida Everblades
  • 2007-08 David Desharnais, Cincinnati Cyclones
  • 2006-07 Brad Schell, Gwinnett Gladiators
  • 2005-06 Jeff Campbell, Gwinnett Gladiators
  • 2004-05 Scott Gomez, Alaska Aces
  • 2003-04 Scott Stirling, Atlantic City Boardwalk Bullies
  • 2002-03 Buddy Smith, Arkansas RiverBlades
  • 2001-02 Frederic Cloutier, Louisiana IceGators
  • 2000-01 Scott King, Charlotte Checkers
  • 1999-00 Andrew Williamson, Toledo Storm
  • 1998-99 Chris Valicevic, Louisiana IceGators
  • 1997-98 Jamey Hicks, Birmingham Bulls
  • 1996-97 Mike Ross, South Carolina Stingrays
  • 1995-96 Hugo Belanger, Nashville Knights
  • 1994-95 Vadim Slivchenko, Wheeling Thunderbirds
  • 1993-94 Joe Flanagan, Birmingham Bulls
  • 1992-93 Trevor Jobe, Nashville Knights
  • 1991-92 Phil Berger, Greensboro Monarchs
  • 1990-91 Stan Drulia, Knoxville Cherokees
  • 1989-90 Bill McDougall, Erie Panthers
  • 1988-89 Daryl Harpe, Erie Panthers