Skip to main content

The Journal Gazette

Monday, July 31, 2017 3:00 pm

Hoosiers, Boilers to play just once in 2017-18 season

CHRIS GOFF | The Journal Gazette

Indiana and Purdue met twice in the 2016-17 season, a relief for fans who like to see a home-and-home series in what is considered one of college basketball's top rivalries.

However, the Hoosiers-Boilermakers rivalry will return to being played just once in the upcoming regular season, the schools found out Monday when the Big Ten released conference matchups for 2017-18.

Since the league expanded to 14 teams, there have been unbalanced schedules. The Hoosiers play five opponents twice and face the eight other teams once.

The Hoosiers have home-and-home series with Illinois, Iowa, Michigan State, Minnesota and Ohio State.

In the single-play schedule, Maryland, Northwestern, Penn State and Purdue visit Assembly Hall, while the Hoosiers will travel to Michigan, Nebraska, Rutgers and Wisconsin.

Although no decision has been made, the Big Ten has discussed exempting in-state rivalries such as IU-Purdue, Michigan-Michigan State and Northwestern-Illinois from the scheduling rotation to guarantee they would be played twice annually.