Skip to main content

The Journal Gazette

Tuesday, June 20, 2017 4:50 pm

Komets remain in Central Division

JUSTIN A. COHN | The Journal Gazette

The Komets will remain in the Western Conference’s Central Division this season, but they will be reunited with the Cincinnati Cyclones.

The ECHL unveiled its divisional alignments today and the Komets will be in the Central with the Cyclones, Indy Fuel, Kalamazoo Wings, Kansas City Mavericks, Quad City Mallards and Toledo Walleye.

Tulsa and Wichita, which had been division rivals last season, both moved to the Mountain Division. Kansas City, which had formerly been known as the Missouri Mavericks, moved in from the Mountain.

The Komets reached the Central Division finals last season, losing to Toledo after defeating Quad City in the first round.

The playoffs this season will follow the same format: The first two rounds will be within the division, before the conference and Kelly Cup finals.

The Eastern Conference’s North Division will include the Adirondack Thunder, Brampton Beast, Manchester Monarchs, Reading Royals, Wheeling Nailers and Worcester Railers.

The South Division will have the Atlanta Gladiators, Florida Everblades, Greenville Swamp Rabbits, Jacksonville IceMen, Norfolk Admirals, Orlando Solar Bears and South Carolina Stingrays.

The Western Conference’s Mountain Division will have Wichita, Tulsa, the Allen Americans, Colorado Eagles, Idaho Steelheads, Rapid City Rush and Utah Grizzlies.

The Komets’ 72-game schedule will include 47 games against division foes and 58 against conference foes. The Komets open their 66th regular season Oct. 14 against the Walleye at Memorial Coliseum.