Skip to main content

The Journal Gazette

Friday, June 01, 2018 5:40 pm

Komets announced protected list

JUSTIN A. COHN | The Journal Gazette

The arduous clerical process of the ECHL offseason began for the Komets on Friday, when they submitted their protected list of 11 forwards, six defensemen and two goaltenders.

The only surprises were that Dennis Kravchenko and Daniel Maggio were not among them, however general manager David Franke confirmed their agreements to sign with Fort Wayne last year were contingent on them being able to test free agency this summer and they still could return to the team.

The Komets were not able to protect players on NHL- or American Hockey League-level contracts, including goalie Michael Houser, all-star Artur Tyanulin, forward Trevor Cheek or defenseman Ryan Culkin.

For now, the Komets preserve the rights to players who have already signed to play overseas — Gabriel Desjardins and Mason Baptista — and Justin Hodgman, who missed all but one game of the playoffs because of a concussion.

The goalies protected were Garrett Bartus and Cam Lanigan.

There was no cap on how many players the Komets could protect. The Komets, who lost to Colorado in Game 7 of the Western Conference finals, will have to submit a season-ending roster of up to 20 players by June 15.