Skip to main content

The Journal Gazette

Wednesday, January 18, 2017 7:57 pm

Szydlowski's goal the difference at All-Star Game

Justin A. Cohn | The Journal Gazette

Shawn Szydlowski, who captained the ECHL All-Stars, netted a breakaway goal by lifting a backhand shot into the top of the net and it was the difference in an 8-7 victory over the Adirondack Thunder in the All-Star Game tonight in Glens Falls, New York.

Szydlowski, the lone representative of the Komets, was in the starting lineup and scored with 2:55 remaining, while the teams were playing 3-on-3, after the game had progressed from 5-on-5 and 4-on-4 play in front of 3,767 fans at the Glens Falls Civic Center.

Broadcast on the NHL Network, Matt Garbowsky was selected the game’s MVP; the Colorado Eagles’ forward had two goals and two assists in the two 25-minute halves.

Alex Wideman of the Indy Fuel had two goals and an assist and David Vallorani of the Brampton Beast scored twice.

Szydlowski, who will now return to Cleveland of the American Hockey League, had two shots on goal. He participated in the puck-relay portion of the skills competition. The Thunder won the relay and got the hardest-shot victory from Stepan Falkovsky (99 mph) – earning Adirondack two goals for the game – while the All-Stars’ got a goal via South Carolina’s Steven McParland’s victory in the fastest-skater competition (13.62 seconds).

After Szydlowski gave the All-Stars an 8-6 lead, the Thunder’s Dana Fraser scored with 11.3 seconds left to finish the scoring.

Former Komets forward Peter Sivak, representing Alaska, had one shot on goal for the All-Stars, who were outscored 4-3 in the second half of the game.

Earlier in the day, the ECHL announced that the 2018 All-Star Game will be in Indianapolis, hosted by the Indy Fuel at Indiana Farmers Coliseum, though the format wasn’t announced.

“Indianapolis is a terrific city with a rich sports history,” ECHL commissioner Brian McKenna said. “Combine that with the recently renovated Indiana Farmers Coliseum and we have an ideal location to showcase the best the ECHL has to offer as we celebrate our 30th anniversary.”