Skip to main content

The Journal Gazette

Sunday, February 18, 2018 6:50 pm

Mad Ants' Jones dunk champion

JUSTIN A. COHN | The Journal Gazette

Mad Ants forward DeQuan Jones won the G League’s Slam Dunk Contest on Sunday, defeating Michael Bryson of the Iowa Wolves in the final round at the Los Angeles Convention Center.

Jones is the second Mad Ants player to win the contest, joining Tony Mitchell who won it in 2013 and 2014.

Jones had the best dunk of the day, drawing a perfect 50 in the five-man preliminary round after he started off on the baseline and Aaron Best of Raptors 905 launched a pass behind the backboard. Jones leapt, grabbed the ball in mid-air, spun while ducking under the basket and slammed it in.

In the finals, Jones, a former NBA player with the Orlando Magic, drew scores of 45 and 41 to get an 86-74 victory over Bryson, who failed to complete a second-round dunk before Jones cemented his victory with an underhanded reverse.

(Video of Jones' dunks are above.)

Meanwhile, a team of G League players representing the U.S. took on Mexico’s National team and won 88-67 in the International Challenge, though the Mad Ants’ Trey McKinney Jones didn’t play for the U.S in the contest that was taking the place of an All-Star Game. McKinney Jones is among the G League players vying for a spot on the U.S. roster for the upcoming World Cup qualifying games.

The U.S. was led by Aaron Harrison and Xavier Silas, who had 13 points apiece. Luke Martinez had 22 points for Mexico.

The Central Division-leading Mad Ants return to regular-season action Wednesday at Wisconsin.