Skip to main content

The Journal Gazette

Thursday, June 22, 2017 12:20 pm

Allen Democrats to choose new leader

BRIAN FRANCISCO | The Journal Gazette

The Allen County Democratic Party will elect a new chairwoman Thursday evening, less than four months after it chose its last one.

More than 100 precinct committee officials are eligible to vote for a replacement for Mindy Rogers, who resigned June 1. Rogers had been elected March 4 to a four-year term. She replaced Jack Morris, who did not seek re-election after being chairman for about 15 months.

Two women are candidates for the party's top leadership position: Misty Meehan, the current secretary, and Colleen Pion, a precinct committeewoman. The vote of 113 precinct committee officials will be at 6 p.m. Thursday at party headquarters, 7301 Decatur Road.

Rogers told The Journal Gazette that she resigned her unpaid post because of the time commitments of her new job as northeast Indiana field coordinator for the AFL-CIO labor organization.

"I didn't feel like I could give 100 percent to both organizations. So I left the party in good hands" with Vice Chairman Thad Gerardot and Treasurer Sharon Tucker, Rogers said.

"It really shouldn't change anything moving forward" for the party, she said about her resignation. "I was heartbroken to have to step away."

Allen County voters have elected few Democrats to public office in recent years. The party has two seats on Fort Wayne City Council, one seat on the County Council and one seat in the Indiana General Assembly. But Fort Wayne has elected Democratic mayors in the last five elections.

Rogers is a former political director for the Indiana Democratic Party and a former statewide field director for the Indiana House Democratic Caucus.

Rogers is the second area Democratic Party leader to resign recently. Madalyn Sade-Bartle announced Tuesday that she had resigned as chairwoman of the 3rd Congressional Democratic Party because of the time demands of her job as Churubusco clerk-treasurer.