Skip to main content

The Journal Gazette

Monday, March 20, 2017 10:00 pm

Pair of IU signees ask for their release

Staff, news services

Indiana’s firing of coach Tom Crean has affected the Hoosiers’ incoming recruiting class. Three-star prospects Aljami Durham and Clifton Moore, who signed national letters of intent in November, have asked IU to be released from their commitment.

That leaves forward Justin Smith, the highest rated of the Hoosiers’ three signings in the 2017 class, as the only one standing. Crean was fired Thursday after nine seasons in Bloomington.

Moore, a 6-foot-10 big man at Hatboro-Horsham High School in Pennsylvania, committed to the Hoosiers in early October, when he was rated the No. 46 power forward nationally in the 2017 class by 247 Sports. He reportedly chose IU from a list of six finalists that also included Mississippi, La Salle, Northwestern, Temple and St. Joseph’s.

Durham, a point guard at Berkmar High School in Lilburn, Georgia, had been committed since October 2015, when he was rated the No. 41 prospect at his position by ESPNU.


Feldman to start opener for Reds

Cincinnati chose newcomer Scott Feldman to start on opening day against Philadelphia. Anthony DeSclafani, who was in line to start the opener April 3, will go on the disabled list with a sore pitching elbow.

Tebow assigned

Tim Tebow is joining the Columbia Fireflies of the South Atlantic League. The former Heisman Trophy winner and NFL quarterback will start his season with the Mets’ Class A franchise in Columbia, South Carolina. The Fireflies open their season April 6.


Area awards

IPFW softball outfielder Caitlyn DeLong was named Summit League Player of the Week for the first time in her career and season. She hit .636, with nine RBI, two doubles and three home runs and seven runs scored. … Trine’s Drew Palmer was named Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association Baseball Player of the Week, after posting a .484 batting average, with 16 RBI and 15 hits. … Trine’s Danielle Ray was named the MIAA Softball Pitcher of the Week after she got the win or save in each of her six appearances on the week. The freshman finished 3-0 with three saves. … Indiana Tech sophomore Sydney Davis was named the Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference Women’s Lacrosse Defensive Player of the Week for making a career-high 15 saves in a come-from-behind win over No. 10-ranked Siena Heights on Saturday. … Indiana Tech senior Trevor Stanley and junior Malik Stuart were named WHAC men’s Track and Field Athletes of the Week. Stanley finished first in the 200 meters (21.54) at the Battle on the Ridge Tri-Dual while running the second leg of the winning 400-meter relay (41.35) to help the Warriors win their first event of the season. At the South Florida Bulls Invite, the Homestead product captured the title in the 110 hurdles (14.37) while taking third in the 200 in a wind-assisted 21.36 seconds. Stuart took first in the shot put at the Battle on the Ridge (54 feet 9.5 inches) and the Bulls Invite (53-1.75). … Indiana Tech senior April Wilson and junior Jordan Irvin were named WHAC women’s Track and Field Athletes of the Week. Wilson took first in the 100 meters (11.99) and 400 (56.97) at the Battle on the Ridge Tri-Dual. She capped the week with a nation-leading 55.52 and the 400 title at the South Florida Bulls Invite and ran the second leg of the 1,600-meter relay that took second (3:48.14). Irvin set the school record in the shot put at the Bulls Invite with an automatic qualifying standard throw of 44-11.75 to finish third. She was second 41-11.5) at the Battle on the Ridge Tri-Dual.


Area roundup

Steve Walter resigned as coach of the Heritage volleyball team to spend more time with his family. … Warsaw senior basketball guard Kyle Mangas signed a letter of intent to Indiana Wesleyan. … Garrett senior basketball guard Megan Newby signed with Anderson.


Area team wins senior meet

The Fort Wayne Swim Team won the Indiana Senior State Swim Meet Championship last weekend in Indianapolis. The women’s team won with 670 points, followed by Carmel Swim Club with 499 points and Fishers Area Swim Team with 389 points. The men’s team won with 896.50 points, followed by Duneland Swim Club with 625.50 points and Northridge Area Swimming with 570.50 points. Fort Wayne won the combined team title with 1566.50 points, followed by Duneland with 928.50 points and Northridge with 896.50 points.