Skip to main content

The Journal Gazette

Thursday, December 06, 2018 1:00 am

College football

Kelly named coach of year again

DYLAN SINN | The Journal Gazette

Notre Dame coach Brian Kelly guided the Irish to a 12-0 record this season and a berth in the College Football Playoff for the first time. For those accomplishments, Kelly earned the Home Depot Coach of the Year Award for the third time.

Kelly is the only coach to win Home Depot Coach of the Year more than once since it was first awarded in 1994. He earned the trophy after undefeated regular seasons at Cincinnati in 2009 and Notre Dame in 2012. Former Notre Dame coach Tyrone Willingham won the award after a 10-3 season in 2002.

Kelly, who is in his ninth season with the team, will be presented with the award at the “College Football Awards” on ESPN at 7 p.m. today.

With Notre Dame's 12-0 season this year, Kelly became just the fourth coach in Irish history to lead the team to two undefeated regular seasons, joining Knute Rockne, Frank Leahy and Ara Parseghian.

More honors for Purdue freshman

As awards season rolls on, Purdue wide receiver Rondale Moore also continued to be recognized for one of the best freshman seasons in the recent history of the Big Ten.

On Wednesday, Moore was named the Paul Hornung Award winner, recognizing the New Albany native as the most versatile player in college football.

Moore is the first Purdue player to win a national award since punter Travis Dorsch won the Ray Guy Award in 2001. The Boilermakers' freshman became just the third Big Ten player to have 100 catches in a season, finishing with 103 for more than 1,100 yards. He also ran for 203 yards on 18 carries and returned punts and kickoffs.

The dynamic receiver was also named AP Big Ten Newcomer of the Year and earned first-team spots on the AP All-Big Ten list as a receiver and an all-purpose player, the only player to earn slots at two positions. 

Other league honors:

• Dwayne Haskins was named Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year after leading Ohio State to a 12-1 record and a Big Ten title. He set conference records for touchdown passes with 47 and passing yards with 4,580. He threw for at least 396 yards and three touchdowns in each of the Buckeyes' last three games.

• Michigan linebacker Devin Bush was named Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year. He had a team-leading 80 tackles, including 91/2 for loss and five sacks, as the anchor of a Wolverines defense that spent most of the year ranked No. 1 in yards per game allowed.

• Northwestern coach Pat Fitzgerald won Big Ten Coach of the Year after leading the Wildcats to the title game for the first time.