Skip to main content

The Journal Gazette

  • Chad Ryan | The Journal Gazette IPFW’s Max Landis, a four-time Summit League Player of the Week, was named Thursday the conference’s Player of the Year.

  • Samuel Hoffman | The Journal Gazette IPFW coach Jon Coffman was named Thursday as the Summit League’s Coach of the Year.

  • Michelle Davies | The Journal Gazette IPFW redshirt freshman John Konchar was named Thursday to the All-Summit League first team.

Friday, March 04, 2016 3:47 am

Accolades coming in for Mastodons

Greg Jones | The Journal Gazette

IPFW’s Max Landis and Jon Coffman earned the top honors in the Summit League, announced Thursday by the conference.

A redshirt senior, Landis was named the conference’s Player of the Year, while Coffman was named Coach of the Year in voting of the league’s nine head coaches, sports information directors and selected media members.

Landis is IPFW’s first Player of the Year after averaging 22.9 points in league play and leading the Mastodons to their first-ever conference title, while Coffman is the school’s first Coach of the Year after the team was picked fourth in the preseason poll but finished sharing the Summit League regular-season title.

Landis got a league-high four Player of the Week awards this season and recorded the league’s highest-scoring game with a 44-point performance on Feb. 4.

"Obviously I am tremendously excited and proud for Max," Coffman said by phone. "Down the stretch, he has outperformed any expectations of him. There’s no limit to what he can do and how hard he can play and how he can affect the game in so many ways.

"I am happy for him gaining some acknowledgment for his efforts, but Max will tell you the same thing that his award and my award are both team awards."

IPFW’s 23 regular-season wins surpasses the 22-9 record of the 2013-14 team (25-11 overall) and equals the most at the school since the 1992-93 Division II team. Coffman is 39-23 (.629) in his second season and ranks sixth among the 12 coaches in school history, with still an opportunity to move into fifth this season. IPFW also set a record for Summit League victories (12-4) en route to its first No. 1 tournament seed.

"The Coach of the Year is a job well done by a collective group of our coaching staff," Coffman said. "And then 15 dudes who love the game of basketball and love being around each other and every day, their primary goal is to make their teammates better … that’s what got us a league championship and that’s what got our coaching staff a Coach of the Year honor."

Landis and IPFW redshirt freshman John Konchar were picked to the All-League first team, while Konchar was also picked to the All-Newcomer team. Senior Joe Reed was named all-conference honorable mention.

Landis is averaging 19.4 points, 2.2 rebounds, 3.7 assists; Konchar 12.8 points, a league-best 8.9 rebounds and 2.6 assists; and Reed is getting 10.3 points, 4.7 rebounds and 1.2 assists.

"All of these guys, I think they cherish the league championship much more than any individual accolades that they get," Coffman said. "Honestly there will be a quick congratulations. Just like when we have a birthday, we sing a song, but then we flush it and move on."

Mike Daum of co-champion South Dakota State earned Sixth Man of the Year and Freshman of the Year honors. Omaha’s Tra-Deon Hollins earned Defensive Player of the Year and Transfer of the Year awards. Also on the first team are: Daum, Hollins, Oral Roberts’ Obi Emegano and South Dakota State’s George Marshall.

On the women’s side, IPFW senior Kamilah Carter was named honorable mention All-Summit League.