Skip to main content

The Journal Gazette

Saturday, November 25, 2017 1:00 am

High school football

Pioneer finishes 15-0 to win Class A crown


Junior Jack Kiser ran for three scores and passed for two more to lead top-ranked Pioneer to a 42-14 victory over No. 5 Eastern Greene in the Class A state championship at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis.

The win marked the school's second football state championship and it came 20 years after the first. Both this year's team and that 1997 squad finished a perfect 15-0.

Kiser ran for 207 yards and passed for 111 more to lead the Panthers. Danny Gregorich added 88 yards and a score on nine carries and a touchdown.

Eastern Greene quarterback Caleb Hamilton finished with 151 yards and two touchdowns.

Adam Berry is in his second year as Pioneer coach and is 29-1. Joey Paridaen, in his fourth year at Eastern Greene and sixth year overall, guided the Thunderbirds to their first berth in a football state championship game.

Pioneer's Garrett Schroder won the mental attitude award.

Hamilton put Eastern Greene on top on their first possession scoring on a 13-yard running play for a 7-0 lead. Pioneer answered on the team's next possession as Kiser plunged in from two yards away to tie it 7-7.

Kiser scored his second touchdown on another 2-yard run to put the Panthers up 14-7 with 10:06 left in the second quarter.

The Panthers connected again on a pass from Kiser to Miles Von Toble from 10 yards out with 6:16 left in the second quarter. Kiser then found Ezra Lewellen for an 18-yard score with five seconds left in the half. The score was set up on the previous play when the pair connected on a 57-yard pass play.

Kiser scored his third touchdown of the day on a 53-yard run up the middle with 2:59 left in the third to the lead to 35-7.

Hamilton added his second score for Eastern Greene with a 14-yard touchdown to cut the lead to 35-14 with 5:33 left.

Pioneer added a final touchdown as Gregorich scored on a 30-yard carry with 3:33 left in the game.

The Panthers scored on six of their eight drives.

Class 3A

EVANSVILLE MEMORIAL 29, BREBEUF 17: The Tigers won their first football state title. 

Michael Lindauer threw for 189 yards and two touchdowns for No. 4 Evansville Memorial (14-1). 

The Braves (10-5) got 292 passing yards and two touchdowns from Derrick Ozobu. 

Brebeuf's Dillon Howell won the mental attitude award.

Class 5A

COLUMBUS EAST 42, KOKOMO 28: The No. 2 Olympians had three players run over 100 yards in the win over the Wildkats (9-5). 

Jaedin Miller had 132 rushing yards and three touchdowns, Jamon Hogan 112 and Josh Major 107 and two scores. 

Columbus East (14-1) won its third football state championship. 

Kokomo's Kyle Wade got the mental attitude award.