Skip to main content

The Journal Gazette

Wednesday, March 16, 2016 3:52 pm

ECHL announces 2015-16 realignment

The Journal Gazette

The ECHL announced a conference and division realignment for the 2015-16 season, with the Komets in the Western Conference and Midwest Division with Cincinnati, Evansville, Indy and Quad City.

The northern rivals will be part of the Eastern Conference's North Division, which will have Brampton, Kalamazoo, Toledo and Wheeling.

Also in the West:

Central: Allen, Missouri, Tulsa, Wichita;

West: Alaska, Colorado, Idaho, Rapid City, Utah.

Also in the East:

East: Adirondack,  Elmira, Manchester, Norfolk, Reading;

South: Florida, Greenville, Gwinnett, Orlando, South Carolina.

For the playoffs, the division winners will be seeded, and the next five-highest point totals in each conference will qualify, the league said. All series will be best-of-seven, with the conference champions meeting in the Kelly Cup Finals.