The Journal Gazette
Wednesday, January 05, 2022 4:29 pm

Shine criticizes Democrats, Arp, on council president vote

JIM CHAPMAN | The Journal Gazette

Allen County Republican Chairman Steve Shine criticized the four Fort Wayne City Council Democrats who elected Republican Jason Arp council president.

Shine was also critical of Arp, who was elected in a 5-4 vote Tuesday night.

"The disingenuous Democrats are on the same level as disloyal Jason Arp," Shine said Wednesday. "The Democrats have nothing in common with Arp."

Democrats Glynn Hines, Sharon Tucker, Michelle Chambers and Geoff Paddock joined Arp in electing him president. Republicans Tom Didier, Russ Jehl, Paul Ensley and Tom Freistroffer all voted against Arp.

The Democrats don't share any opinions with Arp on national, state and local issues, Shine said, and they were only trying to better the odds of having a Democratic councilman be president in 2023.

Hines was elected vice president for this year, and vice presidents often are elected president the next year.

"It's very telling when all four members of your party don't think you're qualified to be president," Shine said.

Hines said Tuesday Arp should be given a chance and the vote shows bipartisanship at the leadership level. Arp said it was his turn.

Share this article

Email story

Subscribe to our newsletters

* indicates required