The Journal Gazette
Wednesday, January 22, 2020 10:50 pm

East wins All-Star Classic

JUSTIN A. COHN | The Journal Gazette

The Eastern Conference defeated the Western Conference 4-3 to win the ECHL All-Star Classic at INTRUST Bank Arena in Wichita, Kansas, on Wednesday night.

The four-team 3-on-3 tournament also included two teams representing the host Wichita Thunder — Team Bolts and Team Hammers. Skills competition results factored into the rally scoring.

Florida’s Logan Roe was named MVP with two goals and seven points.

The Komets’ all-star selection, Shawn St-Amant, was unable to play because of an upper-body injury.

In the opening game, Team Bolts beat the West 3-2. Peter Crinella had the winning goal. The East then defeated Team Hammers 6-1. Worcester’s Jordan Samuels-Thomas had two goals and an assist.

Then, Team Bolts defeated the East 3-1, bolstered by a goal from Annie Pankowski, one of the four world-class women’s players in the Classic. The others were Dani Cameranesi, Kali Flanagan and Gigi Marvin.

Cameranesi scored, and Stefan Fournier had three, as Team Hammers beat the West 5-2. Marvin scored in the West’s 2-1 victory over the East. And the two Wichita teams tied at 2.

The first semifinal saw the West beat the Hammers 4-1, led by two goals from Rapid City’s Brendan Saulnier. The other semi finished 4-all.

Earlier in the day, the NHL’s Vegas Golden Knights assigned forwards Ben Jones and Jermaine Loewen to the Komets.

Jones, 20, had two goals and five points in 22 games with the American Hockey League’s Chicago Wolves as a rookie.

Loewen, 22, has three goals and four points in 14 games this season with the Komets. With Chicago, he had one goal and two points in 22 games.

The Komets play 7:30 p.m. Friday at Indianapolis against the Indy Fuel.

Sign up for our Komets newsletter

Newsletter is sent Friday and Monday