The Journal Gazette
Sunday, November 17, 2019 1:00 am

State police group backs Holcomb reelection

BRIAN FRANCISCO and NIKI KELLY | The Journal Gazette

Gov. Eric Holcomb gave state police a raise, and they gave him an endorsement.

Holcomb joined Cory Martin, executive director of the Indiana State Police Alliance, last week alongside active and retired state troopers as the organization announced it is endorsing the governor's 2020 re-election bid.

“It is very apparent that through countless interactions, Gov. Holcomb not only supports our members, but truly cares about them as one Hoosier to another,” Martin said. “He truly does put people first.”

The Indiana State Police Alliance is a public advocacy organization composed of more than 2,000 active and retired state troopers. Active in all of Indiana's 92 counties, the group was established in 1974 to better promote law enforcement in Indiana and gain statewide support for troopers. 

In 2016, the alliance endorsed Holcomb's opponent, Democrat John Gregg. It said Republican Holcomb earned the nod this year because of his active support for Indiana's law enforcement community throughout each of his three years in office, as well as the positive relationships he has built with police throughout his career. 

The most significant accomplishment was the 2017 passage of a $34 million pay raise for state police. 

“Indiana's thin blue line is made up of selfless women and men who drop everything and spring into action in service of someone else – no matter what danger stands in their way,” Holcomb said. “Whenever duty calls, Indiana's law enforcement officers answer and protect all of us. As Hoosiers, we proudly stand with them and I couldn't be more honored to have their support.”

Democrats to fill vacancies

The Allen County Democratic Party will have a caucus Friday for precinct officials to elect a 1st District representative for the County Council.

The person selected will replace County Councilwoman Sharon Tucker, who won the 6th District seat on the Fort Wayne City Council in the Nov. 5 municipal election.

The caucus also will elect a party treasurer to replace Tucker in that role.

The Democrats' caucus will be 6 p.m. Friday at party headquarters, 7301 Decatur Road, Fort Wayne. Candidates for the County Council must file a state CEB-5 statement of candidacy at least 72 hours before the caucus by email at or by mail at PO Box 11544, Fort Wayne, IN 46859.

Candidates for party treasurer must file a letter of intent at least 72 hours before the caucus and can do so at the above email and mail addresses.

Miller to run again

Democrat Kyle Miller announced last week he will try again to unseat four-term incumbent Republican Rep. Martin Carbaugh.

The House District 81 race was one of the closest in the state in 2018. Despite being outspent 10-1, Miller received 46% of the vote share, his news release said. 

“As a political newcomer in 2018, most folks weren't paying attention to our race until the very end, when the Republicans poured over $80,000 into the race to get Martin Carbaugh over the top. It was a testament to the hard work our campaign put in over the summer,” Miller said. 

“In 2020, there will be more people paying attention, and we're committed to working even harder this time around to make sure we flip this seat,” he said.

Holcomb approval 50%, survey finds

More Hoosiers approve of their governor than their legislature and attorney general, according to recent polling.

The Old National Bank/Ball State University 2019 Hoosier Survey found that 50% of respondents approve of Republican Gov. Eric Holcomb, 17% disapprove, and 33% have no opinion or say they have never heard of him.

Holcomb's approval dipped this year from 52% in 2017 and 53% last year.

The Hoosier Survey found that 45% of respondents approve of the Republican-controlled General Assembly. The legislature's 19% disapproval rating is its lowest such figure since the survey began in 2008, according to Ball State's Bowen Center for Public Policy.

Only 38% of Hoosiers approve of Republican Attorney General Curtis Hill. He is disapproved by 15%, and 47% of respondents have no opinion or have never heard of Hill, the top vote-getter among candidates in Indiana's 2016 general election.

Hill was accused of inappropriately touching a female state lawmaker and three female legislative staffers during a party in March 2018, allegations he denies. He was the subject of an Indiana Supreme Court disciplinary hearing in October when the Hoosier Survey was being conducted.

The Hoosier Survey polled 600 adults living in Indiana during October. The poll has a margin of error of 5.2 percentage points.

Poll workers honored

Five Allen County poll workers received the first Jeanne Nicolet Delivering Democracy Award on Friday for their service to voters during the Nov. 5 municipal election. 

The five who received the award are Julie Workman, Jonathan Fettig, Judith Kohrman, Marina Davidson and Ho Mai Da. They were honored for their efforts when faced with an emergency the morning of Election Day when the person assigned to open the door for workers at the American Legion 330 in New Haven got into a car crash.

“While the workers waited for someone else to open the doors, Julie Workman, the inspector, soon realized that the location would likely not open by 6 a.m. and called the Election Board poll worker hotline to report the incident,” a news release states. 

Under the advice of the Election Board, Workman and her team used headlights for illumination as they distributed paper ballots and accepted voters outside the building until help arrived at 6:30 a.m.

“This is exactly the kind of dedication to the voting process that Jeanne exemplified throughout her election career,” Director of Elections Beth Dlug said in a statement. “These workers showed the type of calm determination that was required to deliver democracy under extraordinary circumstances.”

To reach Political Notebook by email, contact Brian Francisco at or Niki Kelly at An expanded Political Notebook can be found as a daily blog at

Sign up for our daily headlines newsletter

Top headlines are sent daily