The Journal Gazette
Saturday, January 26, 2019 7:30 pm

Sectional wrestling

Leo wrestlers on roll, win sectional title

VICTORIA JACOBSEN | The Journal Gazette

In the last few weeks, the Leo wrestling team has made a habit of winning. 

Two weeks ago it was the team title at the Garrett Invitational, then the NE8 conference championship last week. And on Saturday, the Lions won the New Haven sectional tournament, the fourth in team history and the first since the 2015-2016 season. 

Leo topped the standings with 247 points, while Snider was second with 210 and Homestead finished third with 191. 

The Lions won four weight classes, and sophomores Jacob Veatch (21-6) and Ian Heath (35-1) both claimed individual sectional titles for the second straight year. 

"Last year I got the individual title, but obviously we didn't get the team title," Heath said. "And losing to Snider in our dual meet, it meant a lot, coming here and beating them today. ... It feels really good to get it as a team, more than on the individual side."

Heath, who won the 120-pound weight class last year, won the 126 division by pinning Snider's Hayden Tippmann (17-13) at 3:17 in the final. 

Veatch, last year's 106 sectional champ, beat Snider's Brady Ester (23-5) with a late pin at 4:56. Veatch had lost to Ester when the two met earlier this season. 

"I was just super excited to beat him," Veatch said. "I felt like I had to redeem myself for losing. He's a good kid, and it was hard-fought.

"Last time, I tried to throw him three times, and this time I tried to stay away from the throws as much as possible. And I was a little bit more defensive than I was last time."

Jacob Fletcher (30-6) won the 170 weight class for Leo with an 11-0 major decision over South Side's Keaton Grinder (26-6) and Jayden Elwood (31-2) beat North Side's Preston McElroy (25-10) by fall at 3:13.

Leo's Tom Busch (25-9) lost to Snider's Gianini Belizaire (26-4) in the 285 final, pinned at 1:56. Carson Hoeppner finished second at 145, losing by fall to Homestead's Jake Jenkins at 2:59. The Spartans also got the better of Leo in the 138 final, in which Griffin Porter (18-14) pinned Clayton Jackson at 1:38. 

In addition to Belizaire's win at 285, Snider's Emmanuel Ellis (25-7) won the 106 division with a 12-8 decision over South Side's Aye Oo (26-6) and Beau Humphrey (24-1) won another individual sectional title by pinning Homestead's Zach Cawood at 1:16 in the 120 final. 

Host New Haven had a winner in the 132 bracket as Elijah Chacon (29-7) beat Wayne's Josue Sotero (25-7) by technical fall. Woodlan's Dan Herschberger (25-11) pinned Snider's Mekhi Spencer (23-11) at 0:54 in the 152 final, and in the 160 division Homestead's Joe Parrish (26-2) won a 15-8 decision over Snider's Jacob Kreager (17-9). 

Wayne's Justin McDonald (31-3) won a major decision, 15-6, over Homestead's Kai Johnson (11-4) in the 182 final, and New Haven's Tristen Martz (34-6) beat North Side's Lawrence Davis (35-5) by a 7-0 decision. 

At Carroll, the Chargers comfortably won their ninth straight sectional championship and 24th in program history. Carroll scored 238 points, Huntington North was runner-up with 188.5 and Garrett third with 162.5. 

The Chargers claimed four individual winners: Evan Ulrick at 126, Owen Krider at 132, Ethan Hicks at 152 and Reeve Muncie at 285. Brady Lewis of Huntington North won the 106 division while his teammates Preston Teusch and Charlie Agnew won at 113 and 195, respectively. 

Central Noble finished second at the Westview sectional behind Prairie Heights, while East Noble was third and DeKalb fifth. The Cougars had five individual winners: Alex Ocampo (106), Chris Schuller (132), Jadon Crisp (160), Austin McCullough (170) and Levi Leffers (220). West Noble's Isaac Weimer won the 113 division and Kyler Brown won at 126. 

Adams Central won the Jay County sectional, their fifth sectional title, while the hosts finished second and Norwell was third. Alex Curry won at 126 for the Flying Jets, Logan Mosser won at 132, Logan Macklin won the 145 division, Parker Bates won at 170 and Jashawn Berlanga claimed the 220 title. 

Norwell's Kade Zadylak won the 120 division and Gage Schuckman claimed the 152 title. Bellmont's Isaac Ruble won the 106 title, and Jon Ruble won at 160. Bluffton's Landon Bertch won the 113 title. Andre Hughes of South Adams won the 285 division, and William Fietcher of Southern Wells won at 138. 

The top four placers in each weight class at each sectional advance to next Saturday's regional tournaments: qualifiers from the Carroll and New Haven sectionals will compete at Carroll next Saturday, while Jay County will host its own regional tournament and Westview qualifiers will compete at Goshen. 


Share this article

Email story

Subscribe to our newsletters

* indicates required