Skip to main content

The Journal Gazette

Thursday, May 30, 2019 7:00 pm

All-NE8 softball teams unveiled

VICTORIA JACOBSEN | The Journal Gazette

Leo landed seven players on the NE8 All-Conference softball first team after going 6-1 in conference play.

Mackenzie Rust was named a first-team all-conference pitcher along with Bellmont's Macy Montgomery. Leo's Morgan Stuckey was named to first-team as a corner infielder, Ali Davis and Kennedy Shade were named as middle infielders, Simia Spahiev and Aaliyah Andrews were named as outfielders and Ashley Miller was named as a designated player. Kiley Patterson was named to the second team as a catcher and Haley Hines as an outfielder.

Columbia City had three first-team players in Felicity Clawson (catcher), Bella Ross (corner infielder) and Hayley Urban (designated player). NE8-champion Bellmont had catcher Tori Miller on first team along with Montgomery. Norwell outfielder Aubrey Dunnuck rounds out the first team. 

The full team is listed below.

First Team

Pitcher: Macy Montgomery (Bellmont), Mackenzie Rust (Leo)

Catcher: Tori Miller (Bellmont), Felicity Clawson (Columbia City)

Corner Infielder: Bella Ross (Columbia City), Morgan Stuckey (Leo)

Middle Infielder: Ali Davis (Leo), Kennedy Shade (Leo), 

Outfielder: Simia Spahiev (Leo), Aaliyah Andrews (Leo), Aubrey Dunnuck (Norwell)

Designated Player: Ashley Miller (Leo), Hayley Urban (Columbia City)

Second Team

Pitcher: Dani Jaquay (East Noble), Natalie Haselby (Columbia City)

Catcher: Kiley Patterson (Leo), Hannah Troyer (Norwell)

Corner Infielder: Rylee Cripe (East Noble), Faith Ehmke (DeKalb)

Middle Infielder: Brayden Lickey (Columbia City), Allyson Burton (Norwell)

Outfielder: Abby Pequignot (Columbia City), Laney Shaw (Huntington North), Haley Hines (Leo)

Designated Player: Maliah Hampshire (East Noble), Raygan Williams (Norwell)

Honorable Mention

Pitcher: Ally Saalfrank (New Haven)

Corner Infielder: Sarah Eterline (Bellmont), Carly Turner (East Noble)

Middle Infielder: Grace Erwin (East Noble), Paige Busick (Bellmont)

Outfielder: Kayla Heckman (Bellmont), Madison Comment (DeKalb)

Designated Player: Lauren Bleke (Bellmont), Gracey Yarian (DeKalb)