The Journal Gazette
Friday, February 09, 2018 5:30 pm

5 area state legislators facing primary challengers

BRIAN FRANCISCO and NIKI KELLY | The Journal Gazette

Five state lawmakers from northeast Indiana have challengers in the May 8 primary election.

In the Republican Party primary, Adams County Councilman Eric Orr filed to run against Sen. Travis Holdman, R-Markle, in Senate District 19; Russell Reahard filed to run against Rep. David Wolkins, R-Warsaw, in House District 18; Kosciusko County Councilwoman Kimberly Cates filed to run against Rep. Curt Nisly, R-Goshen in House District 22; and William Carlin is taking on Rep. Ben Smaltz, R-Auburn, in House District 50. 

In the Democratic Party primary, Nick Brown filed to run against Rep. Phil GiaQuinta, D-Fort Wayne, in House District 80.

Friday was the deadline to file for the primary election. Other candidacy filings for General Assembly seats in northeast Indiana included:

Senate District 14: Rep. Dennis Kruse, R-Auburn

Senate District 15: Sen. Liz Brown, R-Fort Wayne; Democrat Kathy Zoucha

Senate District 17: Sen. Andy Zay, R-Huntington; Democrat Gary Snyder

House District 18: Democrat Dee Moore

House District 50: Rep. Dan Leonard, R-Huntington; Democrat Jorge Fernandez

House District 51: Rep. Dennis Zent, R-Angola; Democrat Michael Stephenson

House District 79: Rep. Matthew Lehman, R-Berne 

House District 81: Rep. Martin Carbaugh, R-Fort Wayne; Democrat Kyle Miller

House District 82: Republican David Abbott; Democrat Mike Wilber (Rep. David Ober, R-Albion, does not seek re-election)

House District 83: Rep. Christopher Judy, R-Fort Wayne

House District 84: Rep. Bob Morris, R-Fort Wayne; Democrat Curtis Nash

House District 85: Rep. Dave Heine, R-New Haven; Democrat Christopher Rex

Filing for the Republican nomination for a U.S. Senate seat from Indiana were former state representative Mike Braun of Jasper and U.S. Reps. Luke Messer of Greensburg and Todd Rokita of Brownsburg. First-term Sen. Joe Donnelly of Granger, elected in 2012, is unopposed for the Democratic nomination.

Announced Republican Senate candidates Andrew Horning, Mark Hurt and Andrew Takami did not file for the GOP primary election, according to the Indiana secretary of state. A candidate had to collect the signatures of at least 500 certified registered voters in each of Indiana's nine congressional districts to qualify for either party's U.S. Senate ballot.

Filing for the Democratic nomination for northeast Indiana's 3rd Congressional District were former Fort Wayne police officer John Roberson, Fort Wayne resident Tommy Schrader and Fort Wayne marketing consultant Courtney Tritch. First-term Rep. Jim Banks of Columbia City, elected in 2016, is unopposed for the Republican nomination. 

Filing for the Democratic nomination in north-central Indiana's 2nd Congressional District, which includes parts of Kosciusko County, were South Bend resident Douglas Carpenter, South Bend attorney Patricia Hackett, former business executive and ex-minister Mel Hall of South Bend, South Bend businessman Yatish Joshi, Roland Leech and John Petroff.

Third-term Rep. Jackie Walorski of Jimtown, first elected in 2012, is opposed for the Republican nomination in the 2nd District by Mark Summe.


Sign up for our daily headlines newsletter

Top headlines are sent daily