The Journal Gazette
Thursday, December 05, 2019 1:00 am

Purdue receiver named Big Ten's top freshman

Staff, news services

For the second straight year, a Purdue wide receiver earned the Thompson-Randle El Freshman of the Year Award. After Rondale Moore won it in 2018, Indianapolis native David Bell captured the honor this season.

Bell led the Big Ten in receptions with 86, gaining 1,035 yards and scoring seven touchdowns. He started the season slowly after an injury in fall practice, catching just six passes in Purdue's first three games. In the nine-game Big Ten schedule, however, he had three games of at least 12 catches and five 100-yard receiving performances. His 197 receiving yards against Iowa were the most by a true freshman in Purdue history.

Boilermakers tight end Brycen Hopkins was named the Kwalick-Clark Tight End of the Year. He finished with 61 catches for 830 yards and seven touchdowns in his final season of eligibility.

Ohio State quarterback Justin Fields was honored as the Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year.

Fields also was voted quarterback of the year after leading the Buckeyes to a perfect regular season. Other offensive honors: Minnesota's Rashod Bateman, receiver of the year; Wisconsin's Jonathan Taylor, running back of the year; and Iowa's Tristan Wirfs, offensive lineman of the year.

Ohio State had three players on the media's all-conference first team on offense. Joining Fields were running back J.K. Dobbins and offensive lineman Wyatt Davis. The coaches' first team had Fields, Dobbins and offensive lineman Jonah Jackson from the Buckeyes. Taylor was a unanimous pick on the media's first team.

Sign up for our daily headlines newsletter

Top headlines are sent daily